Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    November 25th, 2008
    Posts
    7
    WM Record Tag
    I am trying to create a HTML table inside a webpage using webmerge.

    But it keeps repeating the same words or and over. And I need it to pull a new field for each line in the table. In word processing programs when you do a mail merge, there is a "Next Record" tag that lets the program know to get the next bit of data.

    Is there something like that in WebMerge?

    Thanks!
    Chancer

  2. #2
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Is the template assigned to the Index Pages tab in WebMerge? And does it include the WM-Record tag?
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    November 25th, 2008
    Posts
    7
    Yes...I'm a new at using webmerge except for the simplest things...

  4. #4
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Could I trouble you to post the section of your template that includes the WM-Record tags? We probably need to make only a small change to it.
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    November 25th, 2008
    Posts
    7
    Below is the code and samples of the data I am trying to insert. All I get is
    it this:
    <a href"alabama-computer-network.html">Alabama</a>
    <a href"alabama-computer-network.html">Alabama</a>
    <a href"alabama-computer-network.html">Alabama</a>
    </td>
    </tr>
    </table>


    CODE---
    <p align="center" class="cs_content_area_596_p">
    InsertCityListHere
    <table width="80%" border="0" align="center">
    [WM-Record]
    <tr>
    <td align="left" width="25%" valign="top">
    <a href"[WM-Field: citylist4].html">[WM-Field: State]</a>
    <a href"[WM-Field: citylist4].html">[WM-Field: State]</a>
    <a href"[WM-Field: citylist4].html">[WM-Field: State]</a>
    </td>
    </tr>
    [/WM-Record]
    </table>
    </p>

    Sample of Citylist4 data
    alabama-computer-network
    alaska-computer-network
    arizona-computer-network
    arkansas-computer-network
    california-computer-network

    Sample of State data
    Alabama
    Alaska
    Arizona
    Arkansas
    California

    I

  6. #6
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Unless you want each state listed three times, you should only need a single one of these:

    <a href"[WM-Field: citylist4].html">[WM-Field: State]</a>

    The WM-Record tag will tell WebMerge to pull from each record for the contents between those tags, but as it is it will make three entries for each before moving on to the next record.
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    May 10th, 2007
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by FourthWorld
    Unless you want each state listed three times, you should only need a single one of these:

    <a href"[WM-Field: citylist4].html">[WM-Field: State]</a>

    The WM-Record tag will tell WebMerge to pull from each record for the contents between those tags, but as it is it will make three entries for each before moving on to the next record.
    Mabey the intention is creating 3 columns?

    [WM-Record cols="3" width="660"]

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    November 25th, 2008
    Posts
    7
    When I do the one tagged link all I get is the single state...not all 50 like I want.

  9. #9
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    The setup you have now will work only if your database has only fifty records, one for each state. I'm guessing it has more than that, with multiple records associated with each state. If that's correct, you might want to use the WM-IndexLabel tag.

    Take a look at the US Congress Contact Database example included with the WebMerge installation. I think you'll find it helpful as a starting point for what you want to do, since the listings there are also broken down by state.
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  10. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. How to include next record field with present record info?
    By tvsmvp in forum WebMerge (Fourthworld.com)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: August 18th, 2006, 10:48 AM
  2. Can I put a fied tag in an include tag???
    By Doug247 in forum WebMerge (Fourthworld.com)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 11th, 2003, 09:29 AM
  3. Script Tag or HTML tag?
    By bsnrjones in forum Cusimano.com Scripts
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 1st, 2003, 07:12 PM
  4. Smart Tag Meta Tag Not Working?
    By gettnthar in forum Suspicious Activity!
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: January 29th, 2002, 06:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •