Products to sell, looking at affiliates, some Q's
    Hey all,

First of all, I hope this is the right category I am posting in

So I am looking at maybe starting some sort of affiliate scheme for certain products on my site and I would like to get some feedback if anyone thinks its a good or bad idea, I am completely new to this.....

First off, my product range is quite not your usual run of the mill items, lets take one product, the wireless RS232 adapter/modem kit (http://www.omniinstruments.net/produ.../sub.id89.html ), not exactly an every day household item but it is surprising the demand for such a product in the industrial/research/educational markets.

So my first question is with products such as these, would it be worth my time going down trying to go this affiliate route?

If it is, I was looking to try and deal with the affiliates direct rather than go through something like CJ or SAS. For one, I don't even think these companies would deal with me due to the niche products that I sell. Is that a good or bad idea?

As for tracking the products and sales for each affiliate, I was planning on creating a separate product on our shopping cart which is unique to the affiliate and can only be accessed from the affiliates referral link, this would then allow me to keep track of exactly what the affiliate has sold.

Taking the above product as an example, I would discount it to say $185 (list is $195 on the site) for the affiliate as a promotion or incentive to the buyer and the affiliate would then get $35 per sale.