Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 26th, 2009
    Posts
    3
    Merchandiser Query Tool gives 3 broken products as first 3 results
    hi all, i just found this site on google and was hoping someone could be of assistance or point me in the right direction

    i added the Merchandiser Query Tool via php and when i run a search i always get 3 broken itmes on my results page but when i llok at the url manually it does not display these errors

    i have the code added to http://www.bestotheweb.com and http://deals.clhmedia.com if you run a search in the search box you will see what i mean

    this is my search box html and results page in php form. if anyones knows a reason for this please, please, please email me - io cant figure this out for the life of me


    search form:
    <form method="post" action="http://deals.clhmedia.com/?page_id=35311">
    <input type="text" size="25" maxlength="25" name="keyword">
    <input type="submit" value="Search" name="submit">
    </form>



    results page:
    <h3>Your Search for "<?php echo $_POST["keyword"]; ?>" returned these results.</h3>
    <?php

    //$url = "http://feed.linksynergy.com/productsearch";
    $url = "http://feed.linksynergy.com/productsearch";
    $token = "47f4882134495503ebe593abedecb7702a6fde66724a7bc19333ceed398ab57f"; //Change this to your token
    $keyword=$_POST["keyword"];
    $cat=$_POST["cat"];
    $resturl = $url."?"."token=".$token."&"."keyword=".$keyword."&maxresults=9&page=1";
    $SafeQuery = urlencode($resturl);
    $xml = simplexml_load_file($SafeQuery);
    // Check to see if the XML response was loaded, else print an error
    if ($xml)
    {
    $results = '';
    // If the XML response was loaded, parse it and build links
    foreach ($xml as $item) {
    $link = $item->linkurl;
    $title = $item->productname;
    $imgURL = $item->imageurl;
    $price = $item->price;
    $sku = $item->sku;
    $description = $item->description;
    $short = $description->short;
    $category = $item->category;
    $primary = $category->primary;
    $merchantname = $item->merchantname;
    $results .="<div class='top_post'><div class='post_title'><h2><a href='$link'>$title</a></h2></div>
    <div class='top_entry'>
    <table cellpadding='1' cellspacing='1' border='0' align='left'><tr><td valign='middle' align='left'><a href='$link'><img src='$imgURL' width='115px' border='0'></a></td><td width='10'/><td valign='top' align='left'><b><span><div style='font-size:24px'>$$price</div></span><a href='$link'>$title</a>&nbsp;</b><br/>
    <br/><span ><li>Description: $short</li></span></td></tr></table></div>
    <div class='meta_comments'>Category: <a href='$link' title='' rel='category, nofollow'>$primary</a>&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; </div></div>";
    }
    }
    else {
    $results = "Looks like we got an Error here!!";
    }
    print $results;
    ?>


    thanks in advance for any help


    Chris
    www.clhmedia.com
    www.bestotheweb.com
    www.askthelamp.com
    www.artiescrazy.com

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    October 22nd, 2006
    Posts
    1,065
    The merchandizer query tool is hardly a robust product. You can't have a website based on it. What it returns is unpredictable, broken. Your best bet is their datafeed.

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 26th, 2009
    Posts
    3
    thanks sam, i actually use their data feeds as the main part of my site. i was toying around with their merchandiser api and it seemes like a nice tool as a search form since it picks up all linkshare advertisers and only a handfull use the datafeed

    i still havent been able to figure it out but even with just their basic version they include in their help section i still get the wierd error - if i cant figure it out by the end of the month i'll likely just go back to a standard search form that hits my site instead

    thanks again

  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 26th, 2009
    Posts
    3
    hi all, i was able to figure out that the problem is the merchandiser results have 3 dialogs beforeb the 'item's populate, but i still dont how to write in php to not display these. is anyone using this merchandiser api query and know how to override this feature? any help would be great...thanks

    again, i need to block these 3 identities so they dont get picked up as an item
    . all the items are gathered after these codes

    <TotalMatches>-1</TotalMatches>
    <TotalPages>200</TotalPages>
    <PageNumber>1</PageNumber>
    <item>
    <mid>14142</mid> .....

  5. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Merchandiser Query API
    By cckid in forum Rakuten LinkShare - LS
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: December 28th, 2012, 12:55 AM
  2. Merchandiser Query API - Not all there?
    By dealspoon in forum Rakuten LinkShare - LS
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: March 3rd, 2010, 11:48 AM
  3. Merchandiser Query API
    By SimonHa in forum Rakuten LinkShare - LS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 19th, 2009, 02:19 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •