Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Our Lowdown, Your thoughts & opinions Please!
    Our company has been w/the google affiliate network since october, we have 600+ affiliates, only about 100 are active and a much smaller % are bringing in sales, this month we have made about 600- our Goal is for this program to pay for itself (it costs 500/month) by June, so in 4 months, getting it up to 10,000/month in sales via our affiliates.

I am a brand new Affiliate Manager (in house), I've been working on the program for less than 2 months for 10 hrs / week and have been upgraded to 15 hours / week today,

I am preparing our first newsletter

Working on more creative and a data feed (is the feed very important/helpful?)

thinking of adding us to popshops and greenaffiliatenetwork

working on increasing our commission from 5% to something higher

and working on adding new and better coupons/bargains for those site

how does this all sound to you?

thank you for reading!

Sarah, I think that all of your ideas for growing your program are great, however, the 2 largest barriers to your success are the amount of time that you are allowed to commit to the program and (no offense intended) your lack of experience.

Both of these can be remedied by hiring an OPM (Outsourced Program Manager) at least for a limited time to help you get the program off the ground. An experienced OPM can help with the recruitment of producing affiliates as well as provide the incentives needed to get you current affiliate base more active. They can guide you in determining the appropriate commission rate as well as help you set reasonable goals for yourself and your management.

At the same time you could be trained/groomed to continue the program once it's reached an acceptable growth level. As the program grows your commitment will need to be expanded, ideally to full time.

Of course this would add an additional cost to the program but may ultimately be your best chance at success.