Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ABW Ambassador superCool's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 23rd, 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,268
    Amazon Widget - get widget button
    superCool is new to Amazon and added his first carousel widget tonight. it looks great but there is a little "get widget" button in the lower left corner. the button takes you to the carousel widget creation page. it seems weird that my widget would take an every day website user to that page. did superCool do something wrong? is he supposed to disable that button somehow? or is this normal?

    thanks

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 4th, 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,477
    Quote Originally Posted by superCool
    did superCool do something wrong? is he supposed to disable that button somehow? or is this normal?

    thanks
    Supercool didn't do anything wrong. Mayfly's widget shows the same button and she don't know if there is a way to disable it. It does look weird but she think since the button is so small, her visitors probably won't even notice it. Supercool should email Amazon if he think the button is bothering his visitors.

    (OK, I feel funny talking the way Supercool talks. )

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador purplebear's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    3,960

    Purplebear's got the same little "get widget" on hers as both Mayfly and SuperCool, too and she didn't think there was any way to not have it appear on her widget.

    That doesn't mean tho that Mayfly, Purplebear and SuperCool were all correct in their assumption.....just that all three of them didn't know any way to disable it. Maybe one of the other Amazon affiliates will chime in here if they're aware of a way to disable it.

    "(OK, I feel funny talking the way Supercool talks. )"
    Yeap, but was fun, tho.

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    284
    CharPaula not only finds the GetWidget objectionable but FF AdblockPlus also blocks the carousel widget.

    AdblockPlus blocks everything from the URL assoc.amazon where the JS code resides

    CharPaula is sad
    CharPaula
    Staying focused on the bottomline

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador 2busy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2005
    Location
    Tropical Mountaintop
    Posts
    5,636
    The get widget button is a good thing. It lets others copy your widget to other places with your affID intact hopefully - spreading your ads all over the place
    Buy.at offers the same features on some of their creatives.

    The Amazon Adblock problem is not a good thing. Their ads are blocked on IE7's default settings too.

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    284
    Quote Originally Posted by 2busy
    The get widget button is a good thing. It lets others copy your widget to other places with your affID intact hopefully - spreading your ads all over the place
    Buy.at offers the same features on some of their creatives.

    The Amazon Adblock problem is not a good thing. Their ads are blocked on IE7's default settings too.

    CharPaula checked the GetWidget button - it takes the clicker to Amazon to signup as an affiliate! CharPaula says this is Not Cool!
    CharPaula
    Staying focused on the bottomline

  7. #7
    http and a telephoto
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    17,708
    You aren't allowed to disable the Get Widget button. It says so on the widget creation page.
    Deborah Carney
    TeamLoxly.com BookGoodies.com ABCsPlus.com

  8. #8
    ABW Ambassador 2busy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2005
    Location
    Tropical Mountaintop
    Posts
    5,636
    CharPaula checked the GetWidget button - it takes the clicker to Amazon to signup as an affiliate! CharPaula says this is Not Cool!
    So very Not

  9. #9
    ABW Ambassador superCool's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 23rd, 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,268
    superCool is unsure about the Amazon widgets...when using FireFox the status bar constantly shows text ("reading .....", "loading ....." - or some such things). kind of a turn-off. it might be the mp3 widget doing that though - will have to think about this.

    thanks peeps - superCool

  10. #10
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    284
    Quote Originally Posted by loxly
    You aren't allowed to disable the Get Widget button. It says so on the widget creation page.
    CharPaula says exactly - Amazon is using the GetWidget to recruit affiliates.
    CharPaula
    Staying focused on the bottomline

  11. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. cj widget
    By ohmy in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 19th, 2014, 10:03 AM
  2. Widget's down
    By CTanK in forum Groupon
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 7th, 2011, 09:51 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 11th, 2008, 01:58 PM
  4. What is a widget?
    By drumminlogan in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: November 10th, 2002, 07:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •