Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ABW Ambassador writerguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2005
    Location
    Springfield, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    3,248
    Anybody know anything about WatchStock.com in daily stats?
    I sent a support ticket a few minutes ago to SAS, so perhaps I'll get a direct answer on this question. But I thought maybe someone here at ABW was familiar with "WatchStock.com" and might be able to tell me whether it's good or bad, or what it is??

    I noticed recently in "Last Page Clicked" under my affiliate "Today's Stats" is the URL WatchStock.com. I went there and discovered it's some sort of search engine -- one that I never submitted any sites to.

    I assume they have a bot that found one of my sites and indexed it.

    BUT -- Is that a good thing or a bad thing? Anyone know whether I should block watchstock.com? I'm using a .htaccess script our friend BurgerBoy posted here some time back to try to keep the nasties away. Does WatchStock.com need to be added?
    Generate more fake news.

  2. #2
    Moderator BurgerBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    jacked by sylon www.sylonddos.weebly.com
    Posts
    9,618
    Quote Originally Posted by writerguy
    I sent a support ticket a few minutes ago to SAS, so perhaps I'll get a direct answer on this question. But I thought maybe someone here at ABW was familiar with "WatchStock.com" and might be able to tell me whether it's good or bad, or what it is??

    I noticed recently in "Last Page Clicked" under my affiliate "Today's Stats" is the URL WatchStock.com. I went there and discovered it's some sort of search engine -- one that I never submitted any sites to.

    I assume they have a bot that found one of my sites and indexed it.

    BUT -- Is that a good thing or a bad thing? Anyone know whether I should block watchstock.com? I'm using a .htaccess script our friend BurgerBoy posted here some time back to try to keep the nasties away. Does WatchStock.com need to be added?
    It appears to be a rouge stock market robot that does not check or obey your robots.txt.

    I would ban it from your site. Why let it eat up your band width.

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador writerguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2005
    Location
    Springfield, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    3,248
    Quote Originally Posted by BurgerBoy
    It appears to be a rouge stock market robot that does not check or obey your robots.txt.

    I would ban it from your site. Why let it eat up your band width.
    AHA! I feared it might be some bot up to no good.

    How in the world it got shown as "Last Page Clicked" at SAS is something I hope the SAS folks will come along and explain.

    So, BurgerBoy, using your magic .htaccess script, would I add it like this:

    SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent "^WatchStock.com" bad_bot

    Or is there something different I need to do? I only copied-and-pasted your .htaccess script, I don't pretend to understand it.
    Generate more fake news.

  4. #4
    Tax Paying Member
    Join Date
    November 14th, 2005
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    2,119
    Quote Originally Posted by writerguy
    I'm using a .htaccess script our friend BurgerBoy posted here some time back to try to keep the nasties away.
    I have never heard of watchstock..................but wonder what it would take to get a copy of that script.
    You must climb this mountain. There is no elevator. ---- Don't stick your finger in the liquid nitrogen.
    Carolina China

  5. #5
    Moderator BurgerBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    jacked by sylon www.sylonddos.weebly.com
    Posts
    9,618
    Quote Originally Posted by writerguy
    AHA! I feared it might be some bot up to no good.

    How in the world it got shown as "Last Page Clicked" at SAS is something I hope the SAS folks will come along and explain.

    So, BurgerBoy, using your magic .htaccess script, would I add it like this:

    SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent "^WatchStock.com" bad_bot

    Or is there something different I need to do? I only copied-and-pasted your .htaccess script, I don't pretend to understand it.
    It looks a little different than my script. My script had .* instead of ^

    Code:
    SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent .*WatchStock.com.* bad_bot

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador writerguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2005
    Location
    Springfield, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    3,248
    Quote Originally Posted by BurgerBoy
    It looks a little different than my script. My script had .* instead of ^

    Code:
    SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent .*WatchStock.com.* bad_bot
    Yikes! Okay, was it John Powell who posted the one I'm using? I may have gotten confused again. (Easily done, for me.)

    The one I'm using has about 230-235 entries for bad bots in it. And each is set up using the "^" instead of the "." and the "*"

    Anybody know who's script it REALLY is -- and will adding the line as I have it above do the trick? All I did was copy a line already in the script and substitute "WatchStock.com" for a different bot named in the line I copied.

    Anyone??
    Generate more fake news.

  7. #7
    Moderator BurgerBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    jacked by sylon www.sylonddos.weebly.com
    Posts
    9,618
    Quote Originally Posted by Witzer
    I have never heard of watchstock..................but wonder what it would take to get a copy of that script.
    In your .htaccess file put:

    Code:
    
    #The next line modified by DenyIP
    order allow,deny
    #The next line modified by DenyIP
    #deny from all
    allow from all
    
    
    order deny,allow
    deny from all
    
    
    
    order allow,deny
    allow from all
    
    
    SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent .*Twiceler.* bad_bot
    SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent .*VoilaBot BETA 1.2.* bad_bot
    SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent .*libwww-perl/5.805.* bad_bot
    SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent .*Java/1.5.0_11.* bad_bot
    SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent .*Sogou web spider/3.0.* bad_bot
    SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent .*psbot.* bad_bot
    SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent .*Exabot.* bad_bot
    SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent .*Charlotte/1.0b.* bad_bot
    SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent .*boitho.com-dc.* bad_bot
    SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent .*ajSitemap.* bad_bot
    SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent .*bot/1.0.* bad_bot
    SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent .*panscient.com.* bad_bot
    SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent .*Java/1.6.0_11.* bad_bot
    SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent .*WebDataCentreBot/1.0.* bad_bot
    SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent .*Java.* bad_bot
    SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent .*SapphireWebCrawler.* bad_bot
    SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent .*Yandex.* bad_bot
    
    order allow,deny
    deny from env=bad_bot
    allow from all
    Those are the bots and/or sites I'm blocking right now. When they try to go to the site and request pages they get a 403.

    Notice there is a .* at the start and end of each thing blocked.

    SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent .*Yandex.* bad_bot

    As you find new robots or whatever you want to block just add a new line for it.

    SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent .*Add What You Want Blocked Here.* bad_bot

  8. #8
    Moderator BurgerBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    jacked by sylon www.sylonddos.weebly.com
    Posts
    9,618
    Quote Originally Posted by writerguy
    Yikes! Okay, was it John Powell who posted the one I'm using? I may have gotten confused again. (Easily done, for me.)

    The one I'm using has about 230-235 entries for bad bots in it. And each is set up using the "^" instead of the "." and the "*"

    Anybody know who's script it REALLY is -- and will adding the line as I have it above do the trick? All I did was copy a line already in the script and substitute "WatchStock.com" for a different bot named in the line I copied.

    Anyone??
    Yes - that should be all you have to do.

  9. #9
    Newbie
    Join Date
    February 10th, 2009
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by writerguy
    Yikes! I may have gotten confused again. (Easily done, for me.)
    Anyone??
    Writerguy,

    You are having another panic attack.
    Relax
    Itís just another spider.
    There are treatments for Arachnophobia.
    If your symptoms increase, please pm me and I will prescribe a more lethal ion.

  10. #10
    ABW Ambassador writerguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2005
    Location
    Springfield, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    3,248
    Quote Originally Posted by Lightingbolt
    Writerguy,

    You are having another panic attack.
    Relax
    Itís just another spider.
    There are treatments for Arachnophobia.
    If your symptoms increase, please pm me and I will prescribe a more lethal ion.
    Deep breathing ... deep breathing ... deep breathing ...

    There. I feel better now.
    Generate more fake news.

  11. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Daily Stats Report
    By Kevin in forum ShareASale - SAS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 8th, 2008, 10:15 AM
  2. Daily Stats Didn't Start Over
    By John Powell in forum ShareASale - SAS
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: October 26th, 2007, 03:45 PM
  3. CJ Stats a couple questions...reversal stats
    By s2kinteg916 in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 31st, 2006, 11:39 AM
  4. Very Strange Daily Stats
    By GethsemeneRose in forum ShareASale - SAS
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: September 28th, 2006, 03:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •