What is a good conversion rate?
    I am pretty new to aff marketing and am just wondering what is considered a successful ad campaign? I recently started a campaign and was getting good impressions/clicks, but no commissions. It was a "direct" link to the pub page and therefore a poor landing page could not be the problem. After running the campaign for 2 days, I had about 170 clicks or so and no sales. I went back into my adwords account and clicked my ad, which landed me on the pub page (my hop was showing in add bar) but when I clicked through to the order page, the affiliate name at the bottom was not me. So, here's the question(s) 1) How and why did the affiliate name change to someone else? (2) How many sales did I potentially lose (rough estimate based on 175 clicks)?
    Any insight from you pros will be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Trent

ABW Ambassador
    Search this site and the web for "cookie overwriting"

what is cookie overwriting?

Simply put, cookie overwriting is when another affiliate literally writes over your cookie and earns the commissions you would have earned...

that said, it "could" be one of the reasons your not converting, however, to be honest, 170 clicks isnt a heck of a lot and i wouldnt be pressing the panic button yet. Chances are the customer you are sending them just arent making the purchases...it actually happens a lot for publishers who direct link to their merchants.

And it is possible to have a few hundreds clicks, but no sales.
    You may want to provide some info on the products first, before sending them to the product landing page. Not all the people will go directly, pull out their wallet and buy your product at first sight.

That is the concern. It was a direct link campaign. I was trying to be lazy and avoid havin to build a "pre-sale" or "landing" page, but even if I did that, they can steal your commissions, right?

Quote Originally Posted by trenttdogg