Thumbs up Affiliate Networks vs. In house Hosted Networks Linkjuice?
    Hi,
    Bear with me as this is a first post from a board lurker. I am an affiliate manager here at my company. We are looking at our in house program to accompany our network program. What we are trying to determine is how much link juice does google give (if any) to CJ, Shareasale, and Pepperjam. And does that differ from in house programs like Post Affiliate Pro. We would like to bring in an option that helps our SEO while at the same time gives us a reliable system for our in house affiliates.

Please share your thoughts on this! Thanks!

Affiliate Manager Heather@Stacks's Avatar
    There is zero link juice through CJ. The redirects used to set the tracking mean that no links are attributed to the merchant, and therefore no SEO benefit.

That was our understanding about the big 3 affiliate networks. In house is really what we are curious about. Is it worth doing SEO-wise. Obviously we could offer a higher percentage commission in house without a middle man but is there a benefit to our SEO focus.

Thanks!

Affiliate programs are to drive customer acquisition and sales on a performance basis NOT for link juice - that's your SEO team's job.

Do NOT try to mix the two, affiliates will see the alternate impetus and your program will suffer.

Edited to add: That said there are ways to have your affiliate's direct link for slotting fees as well as other network based work arounds to benefit both affiliate and merchant. But the SEO aspect should, once again, not drive your network nor platform decision making.
    Last edited by Haiko de Poel, Jr.; March 23rd, 2009 at 03:37 PM.
    Continued Success,

Haiko
    The secret of success is constancy of purpose ~ Disraeli

Quote Originally Posted by Haiko de Poel, Jr.
    Affiliate programs are to drive customer acquisition and sales on a performance basis NOT for link juice - that's your SEO team's job.