Results 1 to 24 of 24
  1. #1
    ABW Ambassador kse's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 29th, 2005
    Posts
    2,511
    "Your site has a canonical issue" from SEO Company
    I had an email from a SEO company last night who wants me to buy their services, No thank you but they said one of my problems is:

    "Your site has a canonical issue. Don't make half of your links go to mysite.com/index.asp and the other half go to mysite.com/"

    Is this a problem? Is their a easy fix for this?? FYI I use ASP for coding.

  2. #2
    Merchant & ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    May 31st, 2006
    Location
    Houston TX
    Posts
    4,731
    Yes, this is an issue.

    basically, you are splitting the traffic between mysite.com and mysite.com/index.asp.

    Google for a 301 code/script and have mysite.com/index.asp redirected to mysite.com

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4,327
    I had the same issue, just fixed it

    Thanks for posting

  4. #4
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4,327
    This works for me:

    Options +FollowSymlinks
    RewriteEngine on
    rewriterule ^index\.html$ http://www.yoursite.com [R=301,L]
    rewritecond %{http_host} ^yoursite.com [nc]
    rewriterule ^(.*)$ http://www.yoursite.com/$1 [r=301,nc]

  5. #5
    ABW Adviser Panel Dynamoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Opposite the Slough of Despond
    Posts
    5,465
    I think that Google Webmaster Tools allows you to set which one you prefer.
    Innovative advertising with Slimeware Corporation and Telephore. Mail-order fuel with Petrol Direct.

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador ladidah's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 15th, 2007
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,888
    First thing I do when I get a new site is to fix any canonical issues in my .htaccess file
    It helps to keep the link juice on one page. Just pick your preference and stick with it. Either www- version or non-www version. Doesn't matter. For my sites, I have

    domain.com .................redirects to www.example.com/
    domain.com/index.php .............redirects to www.example.com/
    www.example.com ..............redirects to www.example.com/
    www.example.com/index.php ...........redirects to www.example.com/

    I tried to do that with my htaccess file a few days ago with a new blog and for the life of me it wasn't working. Any of you are running blogs as CMS, the setting to redirect and fix canonical is in the Wordpress Control panel under "General Settings" for Wordpress URL.

    edit: changed domain.com to example.com

  7. #7
    Analytics Dude Kevin's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    5,904
    Canonical issues can now be addressed with a meta tag, as well. The Big 3 engines all follow the tag.
    Kevin Webster
    twitter: levelanalytics

    Kayak Fishing
    Web Analytics and Affiliate Marketing

  8. #8
    ABW Ambassador kse's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 29th, 2005
    Posts
    2,511
    Thanks all I was going to check my script however I just discoved my sites have been down for almost 3 hours now !!!! The company have been great upto now and I sure their working on it but it hard whating for them to fix it and moving my sites elsewere will more them likely take long then for them to fix the problem.

  9. #9
    ABW Ambassador kse's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 29th, 2005
    Posts
    2,511
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin
    Canonical issues can now be addressed with a meta tag, as well. The Big 3 engines all follow the tag.
    Are you able to give the code for the meta tag(s) or where I should go to look for the correct structure??

  10. #10
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4,327
    I read that the meta tag redirect is not the way to do it, you do it with a 301

  11. #11
    ...and a Pirate's heart. Convergence's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 24th, 2005
    Posts
    6,918
    Take a look at what Matt Cutts has to say...

    http://www.mattcutts.com/blog/seo-ad...onicalization/

    And this if you're concerned about dupe content issues.

    http://googlewebmastercentral.blogsp...canonical.html
    Salty kisses, Sandy toes, and a Pirate's heart...

  12. #12
    Analytics Dude Kevin's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    5,904
    Sorry, Julian... I wasn't specific enough...

    Check this out: http://www.mattcutts.com/blog/canonical-link-tag/
    Kevin Webster
    twitter: levelanalytics

    Kayak Fishing
    Web Analytics and Affiliate Marketing

  13. #13
    Analytics Dude Kevin's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    5,904
    Ooops...Convergence beat me to it
    Kevin Webster
    twitter: levelanalytics

    Kayak Fishing
    Web Analytics and Affiliate Marketing

  14. #14
    ABW Adviser Panel Dynamoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Opposite the Slough of Despond
    Posts
    5,465
    In Google Webmaster Tools, go into your site then Dashboard -> Settings -> Preferred domain. Google explain it here.

    The link element in Matt Cutt's blog looks useful too and is supported by search engines other than Google. Whoever they are.
    Innovative advertising with Slimeware Corporation and Telephore. Mail-order fuel with Petrol Direct.

  15. #15
    ABW Ambassador kse's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 29th, 2005
    Posts
    2,511
    Quote Originally Posted by Dynamoo
    In Google Webmaster Tools, go into your site then Dashboard -> Settings -> Preferred domain. Google explain it here.

    The link element in Matt Cutt's blog looks useful too and is supported by search engines other than Google. Whoever they are.
    Thanks I allreay have the www part taken care of it more the mysite.com and mysite.com/index.com being treated as two different pages.

  16. #16
    ABW Ambassador kse's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 29th, 2005
    Posts
    2,511
    Ok, I just got my sites back up and running again after the server failure, so here is another question. In my sitemap.xml do I put:

    <url>
    <loc>http://mysite.com/index.asp</loc>
    <priority>0.5</priority>
    <changefreq>weekly</changefreq>
    </url>

    or

    <url>
    <loc>http://mysite.com/</loc>
    <priority>0.5</priority>
    <changefreq>weekly</changefreq>
    </url>

  17. #17
    Grandma broke her coccyx! Uncle Rico's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 8th, 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,238
    I would the one in without the index.asp

  18. #18
    Affiliate Network Rep
    Join Date
    August 15th, 2007
    Posts
    82
    For wordpress, you can check out Joost's plugin. Fixes this issue as well
    Nick Nelson | nick at aff.biz | Skype: snickn | Phone: 312.282.4515
    Aff.biz Coming Soon - Midphase.com, ANHosting.com, US2.net & UK2.net
    Join now!
    We're serious about Affiliates! - Free Hosting for all Affiliates, ask me how.

  19. #19
    You are in, or you are out ... choose!
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    459
    >In Google Webmaster Tools, go into your site then

    Yep, that works for Google, but what about the other search engines? Also, it is only fixing the symptom, not the cause. Far better to fix the problem within the site itself and thus not have to worry about any band-aid fixes.

    >RewriteEngine on
    >htaccess

    These only work on Apache servers. The OP is using ASP which requires a different solution.

    Have a look on Dave Naylor's site for 301 code applicable to your specific situation/scripting-language.

    Woz
    [url=http://www.dWoz.com/][b]dWoz[/b][/url] - serious webmaster tools & resources.

  20. #20
    OPM and Moderator Chuck Hamrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 5th, 2005
    Location
    Park City Utah
    Posts
    16,646
    Also make sure you have www.mysite.com point to mysite.com.

  21. #21
    ABW Ambassador kse's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 29th, 2005
    Posts
    2,511
    So I added

    <link rel="canonical" href="http://mysite.com" />

    To the header of my index page so that should work?

  22. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    June 10th, 2006
    Location
    Williamsburg, VA (USA)
    Posts
    53
    Fixing Duplicate Content and Canonical
    Julian is right with his Apache Rewrites for handling duplicate content, the canonical tag is a second solution where 301 redirects aren't possible (or difficult). Both elements are necessary depending on how your site is designed.

    If you don't mind, I'm interested in hearing why you didn't hire the SEO company, especially since this is something you didn't know at first how to address. What could they have done better?

    Best,

    Justin
    [i]Always interested in great B2B affiliate programs that serve Sales and Marketing professionals. Private message if you have something.[/i]

  23. #23
    You are in, or you are out ... choose!
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    459
    >Julian is right with his Apache Rewrites

    Yeahbut, the point everybody seems to be missing is that the original poster is using ASP, which 99.99% means MS IIS which means Apache Rewrites are not applicable.

    KSE, I strongly suggest have a look here - http://www.davidnaylor.co.uk/301-red...page-code.html and use the asp code as a basis for a function to be included on your pages to redirect any unwanted variations to your desired canonical. Adding the tag only bandaids the symptom for those search engine that support it. It doesn't fix the cause, and once you fix the cause the problem will go away.

    Woz
    [url=http://www.dWoz.com/][b]dWoz[/b][/url] - serious webmaster tools & resources.

  24. #24
    ABW Ambassador kse's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 29th, 2005
    Posts
    2,511
    Quote Originally Posted by Woz
    >Julian is right with his Apache Rewrites

    Yeahbut, the point everybody seems to be missing is that the original poster is using ASP, which 99.99% means MS IIS which means Apache Rewrites are not applicable.

    KSE, I strongly suggest have a look here - http://www.davidnaylor.co.uk/301-red...page-code.html and use the asp code as a basis for a function to be included on your pages to redirect any unwanted variations to your desired canonical. Adding the tag only bandaids the symptom for those search engine that support it. It doesn't fix the cause, and once you fix the cause the problem will go away.

    Woz
    Thanks Woz,

    I do have one created to forward www.mysite.com to mysite.com

    I tried to write a script using different request.servervariables however I never gotten one to work with the index.asp part of the URL.

    <%
    currenturl = request.servervariables("??????")
    If currenturl = mysite.com/index.asp then
    Response.Status=”301 Moved Permanently”
    Response.AddHeader “Location”, ”http://mysite.com”
    end if

    %>

    Any other asp classic programmers out their that can help with this script??

  25. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. AdWords "site disabled" for "Site Policy"
    By markwelch in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: February 21st, 2011, 05:41 PM
  2. "update your Google Affiliate Network Account" Is this a major issue?
    By Thurston Howell III in forum Google Affiliate Network - GAN
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: February 14th, 2009, 04:35 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 29th, 2005, 01:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •