Key Items a Publisher Should Have in Their Blog or Web Site & Other Q's
    Since I am still very new to affiliate marketing, I'm always looking for examples of what a good and successful site might look like.

I wish I could ask you all for links to your most successful sites. Since I can't, I'd like to ask you about the key items or key ingredients for a good site or blog.

For instance, on my site

1) I have banners and text links and individual product pics

2) I've offered suggests of what shoes are the most trendy as related to my niche

3) I've described why I created the site, based on personal experience

4) Tried to add a little more content writing some annecdotes so as to have more content for spiders to crawl (Don't know if I worded that correctly--still getting all of this down)

How does this sound and what else should I be adding?

Questions regarding Items/Content & Blog vs. Site

1)Do you see value in having a site and a blog? Just a blog? What are the pros and cons of one over the other or both?

I don't know the proper terminology to use so I hope you'll bear with me as I speak broken affiliate marketing jargon to get my point across for this next question regarding my blog:

2) Because my web host does not "support," for lack of a better way of putting it, the Wordpress app that would enable me to advertise on my blog, I will either need to switch hosts or maybe consider transferring the domain name to an inexpensive host to run the blog. If I do the later, does it make sense--as a newbie--to go with Site Build It, since they'd give me tools to help with SEO or is there another alternative that anyone might suggest that would be better? Basically without the help of my current web host I don't know how to get traffic beyond putting in keywords. Right now, I'm not getting as much traffic as I'd like, but the traffic that I am getting is buying, which is good. I'd like more views obviously, though and more sales.