How much should an AM be paid????
    I know this is a very broad question but what is the entry level salary for an AM in their first year? I have a lot of background in marketing and business but not so much experience with affiliate marketing in particular...any input would be much appreciated!

Merchant & ABW Ambassador
    It depends on location and your experience managing programs.
    If you have managed program like Expedia or Buy.com or Fortune 500, you are able to command a better income or bargaining chip. That does not mean that if you run a smaller program, you are useless.

Checkout Shawn Collin's website / blog as he might have posted something as I saw it about a year or so ago.

If you are in Alabama, i think it might be in the 20-40k (out of the gate). If you are in NY or LA, the avg might be in the 30-55k.

If you do not have much experience being an AM, I would strongly recommend doing it for the experience as I think it is an every learning industry. I learned a lot on Linkshare which can be applied to my program as SAS, but some of the highly technical things can be only applied to Linkshare.

Like what I said, check Shawn Collin's website.

All the best.

Thanks for that response. What about after a year or two of experience? I suppose it will also be industry specific. Just wondering what AM managers do after a couple of years of experience under their belt.

Quote Originally Posted by ramona
    Thanks for that response. What about after a year or two of experience? I suppose it will also be industry specific. Just wondering what AM managers do after a couple of years of experience under their belt.
    Become affiliates and make some real money.
    Bill / Marketing Blog @ 12PM - Current project: Resurrecting my "baby" at South Baltimore..
    Cute Personal Checks and Business Checks
    If you are too busy to laugh you are too busy.

"After a couple of years" Let's call it 2 - not more than $60K