Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    A tax newbie here.

I've been getting a lot 1099's this week, and wanted to know what to report.

Do I report only those amount on 1099 forms, or do also report other small amounts from Indies, advertisement fees?

Thanks,

Resident Genius and Staunch Capitalist Leader's Avatar
    Legally, you're supposed to report *all* of your income, even if you don't get a 1099 for it.

~Cheapskate merchants need not apply

ABW Ambassador
    Report it all and get an accountant.

I work in lounge pants

SamBay,

If you are not stashing 50% away for your taxes you are in for a rude awakening.

For those of you viewing, if you did not pay your city tax, property tax and state taxes. It WILL catch up to you!

Starting an online business is fun and easy, but it does not give you or anyone a FREE card to not report. In fact you will be crying as your house is auctioned or whatever the IRS does now a days for those individuals that do not report.

On another note, claim your home as part of your business

Have to move

And whala, you are really screwed, as you now have to annotate the home as PROFIT and annotate those taxes.

I must say…

It appears an easy venture into the world of business on the Internet, what most people forget is that taxes are taxes. And the IRS can care less how you got the money, only that you give them there required pay off. If you do not pay off the government we will se you posting about how you lost your house or whatever.

WAIT

Can you post from JAIL?

SandraR

ABW Ambassador
    What Trust said, except I will add, get a GOOD accountant.

Keep your nose clean, claim what you should claim, report all your income and let the IRS leave you alone.

IamJaloppy

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> On another note, claim your home as part of your business

Have to move

And whala, you are really screwed, as you now have to annotate the home as PROFIT and annotate those taxes. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>