More Cheesier Than Ever Cheesehead's Avatar
    I started a movie review site - Can I write off movies?
    I started a movie review site. Can I write off my movie ticket price if I go to see the movie? Seems like it would trigger a red flag as it seems to fall in the Weird Tax Write-off category (see http://articles.moneycentral.msn.com...fs.aspx?page=1 )

I know that this belongs in the "business section" but I wanted to get a large number of people to comment on this. Move if you feel the need.
    This World is Not My Home
    We're gonna go inside, we're gonna go outside, inside and outside. . . And then we're gonna go go go and we're not gonna stop til we get across that goalline! Quotes from the movie Rudy, 1993

Although I'm not a tax expert, since the expense does appear to be directly connected to your business, I would have to believe it would be deductable.

I would only caution to keep the expenses reasonable and relevant. For example, taking 6 people with you to watch the movie you're about to review may not be a legit write-off... and you'd likely want to be able to show that you actually did review at least a majority of the movies that you are claiming as an expense.

JMHO

Paul

ABW Ambassador
    Cheesehead

Send me your SS# and I'll ask a friend at the IRS >> hehehe

Quote Originally Posted by PaulS
    Although I'm not a tax expert, since the expense does appear to be directly connected to your business, I would have to believe it would be deductable.

I would only caution to keep the expenses reasonable and relevant. For example, taking 6 people with you to watch the movie you're about to review may not be a legit write-off... and you'd likely want to be able to show that you actually did review at least a majority of the movies that you are claiming as an expense.

JMHO

Paul