Affiliate Manager Bradley.Senkovich's Avatar
    Tax question
    Ok, Company based in Florida.
    Sells product to New Yorker.
    We do not have it in stock.
    We get it from a supplier we have to direct ship it to our customer.
    that drop ship supplier is actually in NY.

Supplier questions about having to charge taxes because it's within their state.
    Even though I am the one who got paid by the customer from NY who in turn paid the supplier to direct ship it to that customer....

would I or would I not owe taxes. I think its no. but with some states you never know. I'd rather not get caught with this issue often.

Do NOT rely on advice you may receive here. Consult with an attorney familiar with New York's sales tax law.

I am not an expert in sales tax. I would guess that the duty to collect sales tax in a state is "all or nothing," meaning that they would expect you to collect sales tax on either all shipments or no shipments to the state's residents. Thus, if New York law provides that contracting with a New York distributor for direct shipment of a single order to a single customer creates a "physical presence" or "nexus," then you'd probably need to collect sales tax on ALL shipments to New York residents, not just those shipped from a New York distributor.

Note that an attorney might advise you that New York interprets their laws in a particular way, but the attorney might also advise you that New York's interpretation is "probably" incorrect or that the law appears to be unconstitutional. Of course, New York will disagree and might take action against you based on its interpretation, which might cost you a lot of money. Of course, it's also possible that even New York believes that you are violating their sales-tax law, they might elect not to initiate any enforcement action.