ABW Ambassador
    Articles Have Ruined My SEO
    I am relatively new to artilcle marketing so this post is both a personal account of my recent experiments and a question to other article marketers...

I have worked long and hard over the past couple of years and by way of SEO, I have managed to get several campaigns into the top 10 of the major search engines. Well, I got greedy and thought that I'd try to push these campaigns even further with an article marketing blitz and boy did it go wrong.

It has only been one re-indexing of Google but my articles have done well - well enough to ruin my SEO positions! In some cases my main site has slipped from number 1,2 or 3 to 30-40! The articles are up there in the top ten and I am getting inbounds from the articles but they are not converting as well as my old traffic. In the past, my SEO based traffic for one campaign converted roughly 1 in 7. Now, the article traffic is much lower (1 on 50 or so).

So, on second thought, I should have just left well enough alone and not done the article campaign. Perhaps I should have used this technique with brand new non-SEO campaigns instead?

Has anyone else see this effect?

ABW Ambassador
    Google seems to have a bias towards big article firms like ezinearticle and squidoo who run AdSense and bring in major moolah. Its laughable to see some of my basic squidoo pages rank higher than my main sites and they also have better google page rank.

What I have learnt is,
    1. Don't let your articles outrank your main site by not having the same or similar content in your article marketing campaign that you have in your main site.
    2. For articles, target secondary areas which will supplement your main site. Think niches that are related to your site but not the same exact niche.

ABW Ambassador
    Quote Originally Posted by sam_park