Question Is this 'proper' for an affilate to do?
    I am a newbie and trying to understand some of the acceptable business practices of this business. I am sorry if these are stupid questions, but I think that doing things the right and honest way is important.

These questions are based on me setting up an internet storefront site using affiliate merchants and/or affiliate networks to provide the actual product for sale. The products would all be related to the theme of the storefront.

1. Is it okay to sell the same type of product from different merchants and/or affiliate programs? For example, if I were to set up a storefront to sell running shoes, is it okay to offer running shoes from Nike, Adidas, New Balance, etc.? And is this an acceptable practice with different affiliate networks?

2. Is there a way to configure a storefront with affilate products so that the buyer is not redirected to the merchant's site, or maybe doesn't realize that they are purchasing from another site? I'm thinking that if they come back 6 months later for another pair of running shoes, they will go directly to the merchant site who provided the actual product rather than returnng to my site (I know that the affiliate cookies only last 30-90 days in most cases).

Thank you - and please ask me to clarify my questions if I am not being clear.

1/ ad 2/ seem ok to me, but this depend of conditions of the merchant
    remember that a merchant would have no sale at all if you, the affiliate, choose another one, so... merchant prefer little money than no money most of the time

Exclamation
    most, if not all, merchants expect to "own" the customer. you have to make your site very compelling for it to stick in the customer's mind to bring them back.

No. 1 should be fine, you should ask the merchant to be sure but I have a few sites that show the same type of product from different merchants.