A Newbie Question about e-mail accounts
    I'm still learning my way around so I hope this is the right place to ask my question about e-mail accounts. I beg your pardon if it's not.

My web host offers e-mail accounts but I was reading somewhere, possibly here that if you ever decided to change host there could be problems. My e-mail account defaults to google g-mail.

Is it not not advisable for any reason to have a regular yahoo or hotmail account associated with your websites to give you more flexibility and control

eg: luckywebsite@yahoo.com or hotmail.com.

or are there some legal or technical issues that make it not ok?

ABW Ambassador
    Not sure, I've always used my hotmail account for most stuff (signing up to networks, mechants etc.) without any problem. Every now and then I need a "something at mysite.com" and I have one domain for that. And that one gets forwarded to my hotmail account. On my sites I don't use email, just forms for people to contact me with.

I handle on-site email basically as Trust does -- I don't offer an email address. I set up a "Contact Us" form. (I set up mostly WordPress sites and use a really nifty wp plugin -- Easy Contact.)

As for other email, I have a domain I use when I need to set up a more "personal" email, otherwise I use gmail addresses for stuff like contacting merchants, affiliate networks, even the webhosting company where I have my domains.
    Generate more fake news.

No Longer Banned!
    Lightbulb How I handle My Email...
    Good Question.

I am different from Gary and Trust a bit. I have used my /contact button on the forum quite a bit to shake the spammers a little bit.

I offer my corporate mail in my pages. I want to hear from my visitors.

I use my YAHOO! address as a catch all. I get perhaps thousands of spams a year there. I tend to give that to all of the places you sign up for and I give it to those who don't feed me or buy my wares.