Approving Affiliates Questions
    Hello,

I'm new to ShareASale, and we've had some affiliates sign up since our recent launch. I'd like to ask some of the experienced merchants about what to look for when we approve affiliates to join our program.

For example, how important is their rating? Is a negative score always bad? And coupon sites- should we consider them?

Thanks in advance for your feedback!

Can't really speak on the importance of ratings/scores in SAS but I thought this post was fairly helpful when determining our "coupon" strategy:
    http://forum.abestweb.com/showthread.php?t=119391

I also found a post here at ABW by a forum member that described a type of "points system" for approving affiliates (huge THANKS for sharing). I have since searched for this post to bookmark but no luck Luckily I took notes.

The post outlined a few "red flags" along with some important areas to consider when approving affiliates, assuming you have chosen manual approval rather than auto approve.

I'll repost what I have.

The affiliate begins with 15 points and points are deducted for the following -
    Free email: -1
    Free Website: -1
    Invalid Phone #: -4
    Proxy IP: -2
    Poorly written english: -1
    Invalid Address: -1
    "Scammy" website: -1
    email doesnt match domain: -1

I believe 11 points and below was considered unacceptible by this particular merchant.

Other things you may want to take into consideration...quality site design, top level domains, projected ability to drive traffic...

Any one wanna take credit for this "Points System" and direct us back to the original post?

Lisa4va

Super Dawg Member Phil Kaufman aka AffiliateHound's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lisa4va
    Can't really speak on the importance of ratings/scores in SAS but I thought this post was fairly helpful when determining our "coupon" strategy:
    http://forum.abestweb.com/showthread.php?t=119391