Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    http and a telephoto
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    17,708
    My son's hard drive is failing, so I went out and bought a new one. I know how to install a hard drive. I installed it, but the hp pavillion won't let me into the bios to recognize the new hard drive, let alone make it the master drive.

    HP says it's out of warrenty and wants $40 to let me speak to a CS rep. I have sent a request via the free online support (have great hopes that that will work NOT!)

    There must be some super secret key combination to get into the bios to set the drive up, I have tried the F10 that is supposed to work, as well as the esc, F2, etc combinations that I know of.

    To make you buy a new computer when you have a hard drive failure is ludicrus.

    Any suggestions are much appreciated. It's a very good P4, there is no reason to toss the thing out just because it has a bad master drive!
    Deborah Carney
    TeamLoxly.com BookGoodies.com ABCsPlus.com

  2. #2
    Affiliate Manager Allen Nance's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Colorado River, Bullhead City AZ
    Posts
    1,604
    look here

    http://www.annoyances.org/exec/forum/winme/t1060309178

    or

    1. From Windows, click Start, click Shut Down, click Restart, and then click Yes.

    2. At the HP Blue screen, press F1 to enter CMOS.

    3. Use the arrow keys to highlight the appropriate setting.

    4. Press F10 to Save and Exit, and then press Enter.
    Signup Now for our KiteandWind affiliate program exclusivly at Shareasale.
    * 7% + Bonus - 365 return days
    * 2nd Tier Signup Bonus - Parasite Free - Auto Deposit Merchant
    * Free Datafeed - PopShops- Performance Cash Bonus

  3. #3
    http and a telephoto
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    17,708
    I tried F1, but will try it again Thanks.
    Deborah Carney
    TeamLoxly.com BookGoodies.com ABCsPlus.com

  4. #4
    Resident Genius and Staunch Capitalist Leader's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    12,817
    On my old e-machines I had to *keep holding down* the special key until it responded with the proper screen. Just hitting the key for a short time (like for normal typing) did not work.

    Maybe the HP has the same type of setup.
    There is no knowledge that is not power. ~Hemingway

  5. #5
    http and a telephoto
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    17,708
    I actually got an email that looks like it is from a real person at hp and this might be part of the problem:

    "If the BIOS does not detect the new hard drive then you need to check
    whether the hard drive runs supports 5400rpm. The maximum hard drive
    that your computer would support is 80GB. If your try to install a
    higher capacity hard drive then your PC might not work properly."

    BUT the computer *came* with a 120 gig HD! I am replacing it with a 160. So I might need to make the 80 gig bootable, hoops, hoops and more hoops. This is why I am not a tech for a living I got no patience for this... LOL
    Deborah Carney
    TeamLoxly.com BookGoodies.com ABCsPlus.com

  6. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Computer Or Computer Hardware Affilliates?
    By RadarCat in forum AMWSO
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 8th, 2005, 10:25 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 27th, 2004, 06:12 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •