Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    An Affilate Marketing Project/Experiment
    I guess it's no secret that of late I've been critical of our industry and it's long term and short term problems. During my attempts to discuss those issues I've met with some agreement and some disagreement, which, in a social world and a forum environment, shouldn't come as a surprise.

So, to that end, I've started this thread, which I will update from time to time based on the experiment I will outline below. Consider this thread a blog, in a way, since that term is as esoteric as any other.

Here's the premise of the experiment:

1.) I have a domain I've been sitting on for 3 years. It's not keyword rich, but it has a lot of marketability for the niche I intend to target. It's set to expire in 2011.

2.) I intend to install Wordpress, and a decent, but free, SEO friendly WP theme.

3.) I intend to reach out to merchants once I have a goodly amount of content, and describe my plans for the domain.

4.) The domain sits in a good niche for e-commerce, unlike my sig link, which while it has the possibility to sell related items, understandably won't convert well online for the big term "kayaks".

5.) I intend to report back here from time to time and tell stories about the experience. It will most likely be in generalities, as I don't want to ruin the "sample set", or garner back links to the site based on the fact that it's an affiliate marketing experiment. It's a "closed beta"

6.) FWIW, the site currently has Zero PR in Google.

7.) I intend to make money. Not bash or praise any merchant, network, or competitor.

At the onset, I already have some merchants I'm approved for in the target niche. So I will have some affiliate links to post from the beginning. I'll try different versions of those links (text, banner, interactive, video) and try to say which works the best.