Augmenting In-House Affiliate Program
    Hi Everyone,

I'm a total newbie. I've just published a totally awesome eBook for guitar teachers, and have iDevAffiliate up and running. I chose to run things in-house primarily because the inbound links give me an SEO boost, and from what I understand, an external affiliate program (I don't even know what to call them ) wouldn't offer SEO-friendly links.

Now that I've announced my program in my guitar-related newsletter (4,000 subscribers), and recruited precisely one affiliate (who's unlikely to sell anything), I can see I'm going to need to put some work into this.

I'm planning on contacting prominent guitar-related websites soon, but I'm also wondering if I should join programs like ClickBank or Commission Junction in addition to my in-house program. Never having done this before, I have no idea what conflicts or synergy might arise.

Thanks,

Rob
    Heartwood Guitar Instruction

Try avantlink.com. They post here at ABW and should be good for start-ups. Tell them I sent you.

Thanks, John.

How concerned should I be about finding a network that specializes in--or is big enough to at least feature--my kind of product (an eBook for guitar teachers)? From a glance at avantlink.com's merchant directory, I don't see any information products or music-oriented products. My eBook is for such a small niche that it would seem that unless affiliates were building a site from scratch to sell it (which seems unlikely), I'd need to find affiliates who already cater to guitarists.

Thank you!

Rob

I think your instincts are right: start with your prospective affiliates, which might mean starting with your competitors and "complementary" merchants (e.g. folks selling non-competing products to the same audience, or selling similar products to a different audience).