Why I Don't Like the Term "Affiliate"
    I've been reading with great interest this thread that started out as a discussion of what web publishers do, but ended up talking more about taxes, which landed it in the North Carolina Tax forum section. Rather than comment on it there, I'd rather bring it up, but see if we can get more input in a non-tax environment. (And also get input from more than just the three members on that thread.)

I thought it was interesting that Trust doesn't mention the term "affiliate" when he's dealing with legislators or others outside this industry. But unlike Mark Welch, he prefers using that term inside our industry because he says everyone understands it.

I agree with Mark. Maybe that's because Mark and I have some similarities in our backgrounds. I've been a reporter, have a journalism degree, and have also been the publisher of a daily newspaper.

Although I am now in this industry, and know what an affiliate is, I still can't reconcile its use, at least not as broadly as we use it. Referring to an affiliate as a publisher makes much more sense to me.

A decade ago when my company first put links on our site to Amazon, it made sense to refer to ourselves as an Amazon affiliate. That defined the tiny relationship we had with one other company, Amazon, which was the only company we were affiliated with. But to every other business in the world, we were not an affiliate, so it would have been wrong to address ourselves as such.

The reason I like the term "publisher" so much is because it is so intuitive. When we create a website, we are publishing it to the world, regardless what the content is. We can choose to limit it to our own content, or we can choose to enter into advertising agreements with merchants to place their ads on our site. Either way, we are still publishers.