Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    November 10th, 2009
    Posts
    4
    opening settings file
    Previously I was able to open 4WWebMerge by double-clicking on a settings file. Now when I try that, with v 2.5.2, I get an error message saying the program can't open the settings file "file://localhost/Users/path_to_settings_file".

    If I start 4WWebMerge first and open the file from there it opens without trouble.

    Is there any way to correct the path?

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4,327
    Looks like your file associations are messed up. You need to change the settings to make sure that Webmerge is used to open the files

  3. #3
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    hammarlund, are you using Snow Leopard? If so, this is a known issue which will be resolved shortly. If not, please let me know this OS you're using so we can look into this further.
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    November 10th, 2009
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by FourthWorld
    hammarlund, are you using Snow Leopard? If so, this is a known issue which will be resolved shortly. If not, please let me know this OS you're using so we can look into this further.
    Julian, no this is not the problem.

    FourthWorld, yes, I'm using Snow Leopard. Thanks for letting me know that this is a known issue. Still a great program!

  5. #5
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Thanks for confirming that. Send me an email to webmerge@fourthworld.com noting your screen name here and I'll send you a link to a test build as soon as it's available.
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  6. #6
    Newbie
    Join Date
    July 10th, 2007
    Posts
    3
    Same problem for me with SnowLeopard.
    Need a solution ...

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    July 10th, 2007
    Posts
    3
    sorry that I didn't explain my problem.

    I need a solution because I open the setting-files directly from a script in FileMaker. Sometimes I do open more than one setting-file within the same script. The script now stopps :-(

  8. #8
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    I understand and am on it. I believe I have the fix in hand, and am now updating my build tools to put it into place. I'll send you an email once I have that build ready for your testing.
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  9. #9
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Have you updated to OS X 10.6.2? It would be very helpful to know the exact version you're using, and whether updating to the latest system fixes the issue. I've had mixed results testing here, but it seems that on some systems the update to v10.6.2 corrects the problem.
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  10. #10
    Newbie
    Join Date
    November 10th, 2009
    Posts
    4
    I am running 10.6.2, just tried again to open the settings file with the same results. I tried renaming the plist file in ~/Library/Preferences and tried again but had the same results.

  11. #11
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Thanks for the info. I'm gathering other data on this and will resolve it ASAP.
    Hang in there....
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  12. #12
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    FWIW, it seems that on most systems if you install Rosetta support with Snow Leopard and set the application to run under Rosetta this issue goes away. That may not be a practical solution for your setup, but wanted to offer it in case it was.
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  13. #13
    Newbie
    Join Date
    November 10th, 2009
    Posts
    4
    Sure thing, thanks! If there anything I can do to help, like testing, let me know!

  14. #14
    Newbie
    Join Date
    July 10th, 2007
    Posts
    3
    I have set the application to run under Rosetta and now it works – but needs extra time to start.

    Mac OS 10.6.2

  15. #15
    Newbie
    Join Date
    December 11th, 2009
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    2
    Same message (in French) for me
    This is the same with 10.6.2 French version. (The message is of course in French).

    Thanks Richard for the tip's of Rosetta that can allow us to generate page's.

    Anyway one of my top 5 best software ;-)

  16. #16
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Thanks for the kind words.

    It's too bad Apple plays fast and loose with backward compatibility as often as they do (moving from 68k to PPC, then from Classic to OS X, then from PPC to Intel - shifting from ADB to USB and SCSI to Firewire along the way - have been very expensive undertakings for Mac developers and end-users alike), but fortunately I believe I've found the replacement API to use to fix this. I'll be doing some testing on this, and when it's working well here I'll post it for your verification on your system.
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  17. #17
    Newbie
    Join Date
    December 11th, 2009
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    2
    ;-) No problem
    No problem, I know that Apple change the API in a very quick manner sometime. My company develop a PowerTalk plug-in long time ago ... just before Apple stop to work on PowerTalk.

    Best Regards

  18. #18
    Newbie
    Join Date
    August 25th, 2008
    Posts
    4
    Glad to find this...now running WebMerge 2.5.3 on Snow Leopard 10.6.2 and the errors opening from Finder or from my FMPro scripts were a problem. Now running in Rosetta, and glad for the workaround. But...any progress on an actual fix for native Intel operation? I see it's been a few months.

  19. #19
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Yeah, we've been bogged down dealing with Unicode issues, but we have enough other fixes in place that I think I'll set aside the Unicode for now and post a new build of v2.6b later this week which will have the fix for the Mac Finder issue.
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  20. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. zip file datafeed file transfer into database
    By rahulcbr in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: August 28th, 2007, 04:59 AM
  2. Re-install/settings file problems
    By csalle in forum WebMerge (Fourthworld.com)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 16th, 2007, 10:07 PM
  3. Settings file will not save
    By UncleScooter in forum WebMerge (Fourthworld.com)
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: August 2nd, 2005, 01:15 PM
  4. File Structure and File Names...
    By tfmurphhk in forum WebMerge (Fourthworld.com)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: March 2nd, 2005, 12:51 PM
  5. Incorporating the File No. in the Index File?
    By huhu in forum WebMerge (Fourthworld.com)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: October 6th, 2003, 05:09 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •