Is it important to know web developing code like XHTML and CSS when starting out??
    Hey guys,

the title is pretty much what i want to know. I have read in places on this forum that learning CSS can save a lot of time. I have been running a blog for a few months now and am curious to know whether i should be spending some time learning this area. Or is it a case of when i actually come across the need for it in my expansion i should learn it??

Cheers

There are many people at ABW who are more knowledgeable about coding than I am but seeing that no one has attempted to give you an answer I'll give it a shot

I would say that CSS is more important than knowledge about XHTML [but it wouldn't hurt to know this]

CSS sets the look of your page[s]/site[s].

You can create an XHTML site with Dreamweaver by default and there are many template examples are XHTML by default. You might want to get a helpful book on XHTML, but I believe CSS is more important in the long run.

Your goals for your site also will be contributing factors in terms of which is more important etc...
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

Thanks for the advice Rhia, i will do some light reading on both with more emphasis on CSS so that i am prepared when i need it

Maybe a different affiliate would be very "pro XHTML" for specific reasons.
    In the meantime, I thought these were 2 good articles about the topic:

What is XHTML good for?

HTML Goodies: XHTML

Do a Google/Search Engine search because there's lots on your topic[s]
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

In my opinion you don't have to be an expert, but knowing the basics would help you understand the conversation here. Why not get a basic tutorial like Gilson's and give it a weekend. You will be amazed at how much you know then. html first and then css. It really is a fairly easy language to learn.