Developing a conversion rate? Excuse my ignorance.
    Hello every one,

I am a complete newbie and really appreciate the knowledge and wisdom provided by the members of this forum, it is such a great resource. Thank you so much.

I am a merchant who is trying to develop an affiliate program.

If I understand correctly, it is wise to have a conversion rate to show possible affiliates so they can determine wether or not sending traffic to your site is worth it.

What is the best way to develop a conversion rate? We are in the high-end diamond jewelry market.

Thanks,
    Mark McCoy

Are you asking for a formula? Sales / Traffic * 100

It really depends on what you are driving to - if your doing a single landing page for a single product, what does that convert at? If you are offering an affiliate program for an entire cart-based site, what does the site convert at in general?

Also, it is just wise to focus on your advantages. If your conversion rate rocks, boast it. If it doesn't, focus on your payouts or some other benefits to get affiliates interested in testing your program. Giving your conversion rate out will definitely help in crunching numbers on a topical level, but different traffic converts at different rates so it isn't a great gauge on how something will perform.

Quote Originally Posted by Medge
    Are you asking for a formula? Sales / Traffic * 100
    This will give you an EPC (Earnings Per 100 Clicks) which is a metric affiliates use. Your conversion rate is just your sales (number of orders) divided by the number of visitors. If you had 10 sales yesterday and 100 visitors to your site, your conversion rate is 10%.

If your conversion rate is low, first find out why and how to fix it. If your site isn't converting you won't keep affiliates for very long. Don't expect affiliates to convert at a higher rate than you're getting now.
    Greg Rice Affiliate Program Management
    www.gocmc.com info(AT)gocmc.com | 330-259-1223