Moving a blog to Custom URL
    I have a free blog on wordpress which has good content but low traffic. I am wondering if it is a good idea to move it to a custom url before really starting to ramp up marketing on the site?

And is that very easy?

And is that even advisable?

Thanks

Rob

Manager - Affiliate Marketing Patrick Vesperman's Avatar
    why not just have it www.blog.com? I am a WP newbie myself - and very interested in this thread.

ABW Ambassador
    You mean a blog like www.yoursite.com

This will work if you are setting up a brand new site/blog.
    But if you already have a site and you want to add a blog to it, you will need to set it up in a subdomain or a subdirectory.
    Last edited by BurgerBoy; December 30th, 2009 at 09:52 PM.

My personal opinion is to get your own domain. You have total control over it and no worries about moving it later after you've added tons of content.

Some aff merchants do not allow links placed on sites that you yourself do not control, that is also a very important point for me.
    I disagree with Kay Jewelers. I would bet on any given Friday or Saturday night more kisses begin with Bud Lite than Kay.

I wanted to add:

Patrick's question about placing it on it's own domain is pretty much the same as a sub-domain except for the way the address would look.
    Last edited by suzie250; December 30th, 2009 at 01:37 PM. Reason: forgot a word
    I disagree with Kay Jewelers. I would bet on any given Friday or Saturday night more kisses begin with Bud Lite than Kay.

Yes I do recommend a custom url and yes I do recommend doing this first. It is easy and inexpensive. I actually just did it myself for the first time...and if I can do it, ANYONE can...even this guy >