Affiliate Manager Ian H - TicketLiquidator's Avatar
    Viral Marketing
    Has anyone here ever tried any viral marketing, or is that a naive question?

I ask because I've been experimenting with it recently, but it seems that hitting the top of Digg (or even one of the really small networks) is virtually impossible.

I'm an affiliate manager but I'm also an affiliate myself and would love if someone could send me to a site where there is some good info on the real deal where viral marketing is concerned.

Thanks.
    [SIZE=3][COLOR=Navy][FONT=Arial]Ian Hough.
    Affiliate Program Manager, TicketLiquidator.com.
    Contact: [email]ianh@ticketliquidator.com[/email][/FONT][/COLOR][/SIZE]
    Don't let your work go to waste. Sign up and get paid for all sales: [B]Onsales[/B], last-minute, etc.

http and a telephoto
    Viral marketing means you have something that people *want* to talk about and pass along to their friends. It isn't something you can "push a button" and do.

Viral marketing is a fancy term for Word Of Mouth marketing, which means at the end of the day you need to have a special something that people will recommend to others via all the social networks that people now use to spread "word of mouth" suggestions.
    Deborah Carney
    TeamLoxly.com BookGoodies.com ABCsPlus.com

there are some interesting case studies such as lolcats and fail blog. it seems like a killer combination is free content with your watermarked url.
    [URL]http://Essociate.com[/URL]

Most viral marketing is monetized through methods other than affiliate marketing. Affiliate marketing really works best with highly targeted products and traffic, and you seldom have either with most viral things. Traditional banner advertising or sponsorships or AdSense will usually produce much better results with untargeted traffic like that.

Just look at some of the examples of viral sites: Jib Jab, Elf Yourself, Despair.com's Demotivational Posters, etc.