Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Merchant & ABW Ambassador
    Exclamation Upgrading from 2.8.1. to 2.8.2 and error for meta.php = no blog
    Hi I mess up my WP site - EricEwe.com. Help please....

Trying to google to debug the issue but I am not a pro in WP.

I loaded 2.8.2 from 2.8.1 late last nite. I did it via simple scripts and in the past, i was able to revert to the older version without any problems.

When i load my website after the upgrade to 2.8.2, I saw a blank white page so I loaded the 2.8.1 by clicking it on simple scripts (restore). it says restore/loading the old version was successful, I see this error.

Warning: require(/home/mywebsitename/public_html/wp-includes/meta.php) [function.require]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/mywebsitename/public_html/wp-settings.php on line 364

Also, looking at the FTP, i do not see meta.php in that folder.
    I run a custom theme and have about 1 dozen plugins. I hate to start over cos of SEO.

Help please....

Can you use your last cPanel backup and then start over? Mine is showing 2.9.1 as the latest variation which I didn't upgrade to yet. I have been using the auto upgrade feature that comes with wp, and doing a cPanel backup first.

Thanks for the input.

Tried that but it did not work. I need to figure out how to restore it and based on the error, I guess I need that meta.php file somehow.

I was unable to locate a meta.php file on my FTP. So I downloaded a version off WP (v.2.8.1).
    In the downloaded unzip, there is no wp-includes/meta.php in the version off WP.

I want to think that it could be a plugin file?

Any 2 cents is appreciated.

My oldest version is 2.8.4 and it doesn't have /wp-includes/meta.php either. Did you try it with all your plug-ins disabled and then turning them on one at a time?

Quote Originally Posted by John Powell