Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Do you think affiliate managers should be affiliates themselves? What are the pros and cons of this? Plus Haiko what do merchants know about us, pertaining to this forum.

My take on this is they should not be affiliates as they have to much data, on what works.

ABW Ambassador
    Since I have no affiliates from "tundra" I'll be happy to step in here.

I have 4 years experience as an affiliate in another very competitive industry.

When someone climbs to the point that it matters on my radar screen, I know everything it is to know about them. We become good friends.

If they do not get on my screen they don't matter.

YES, I'm an animal !

ABW Ambassador
    No. Even though this has been discussed before, it's good to bring it up again. You hit on the reason, you have one competitior that knows every aspect of your business as it pertains to that merchant, your click-through rates, your income, your sucessful techniques & what didn't work. And this competitor knows the same information about every other affiliate. And this competitor is being paid to help you be successful.

Some AMs have said that they don't use this info in running their own business. They may be sincere but it's up to you to decide if you care to believe them.

The appearance of a conflict of interest and the opportunity for abuse is too great for me to sign up for a program that I know the AM is an affiliate. I'd prefer an AM whose full attention is given to making the program and affilliates successful.

Wayne

"If they do not get on my screen they don't matter." Thanks Adam I know now who to not work with.

NorthernStudio, thanks for making it clearer. Aff managers should not be affiliates them selves.

Affiliate Manager PetsWarehouse.com's Avatar
    It would be easy for me to review our top sites and copy the best features.

My answer would be NO we should not!
    Bob Pets Warehouse
    Worlds Largest Pet Supply DataBase