Talking How does one identify the next HOT thing in the market
    I am still a bit new at affiliate marketing but i really enjoy doing it. First it was the7figuremarketingschool which gave me some results then came the affiliate code........... the question is, how does one know the next new thing so as to get it when it has JUST started so as to get full returns?? Is it all about how big a risk one is willing to take?

SEO: A Specialty - Web Design: Slow or outsourced andbeyond's Avatar
    The Call is coming from Inside the House!
    It may not be necessary to find the next big thing way before anyone else. Just notice it before there are a million pages for it.

But Google Trends and Google Insights are pretty good tools for seeing what is coming up.

If you do keyword research in Insights on the bottom left of the results will be things like "Breakout" which means over a thousand percent growth recently in search traffic.

Moderator Note: Humorous (but off topic) responses split to this thread in the Inner Circle.
    Michael Coley
    Amazing-Bargains.com
     Affiliate Tips | Merchant Best Practices | Affiliate Friendly? | Couponing | CPA Networks? | ABW Tips | Activating Affiliates
    "Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world." Nelson Mandela

If I knew how to predict "the next hot thing," I'd be a lot richer.

Unfortunately, it's often very difficult to recognize which of many "new things" is going to be "hot." You're more likely to choose the right products if you stick with things you know about. If you're a radio-controlled-airplane enthusiast, then you can probably recognize what's hot in that particular niche better than folks who aren't in that niche.

As noted, there are some interesting resources to try to view trends (using google, twitter, etc.) but your time and effort (interpreting that data and extrapolating it to products) might not bring you any solid results.