I'm going to drop this question in this thread, if it's misplaced I suppose some mod will move it.

I am not quite sure I know enough to ask the question correctly, but: I am toying with entry into AM... and have been reading reading reading. I believe I have a niche picked out, and with my research have found a few online stores that appear to be very good, but INDY, in that I cannot find them on any of the networks I have searched, NOR do I find any info about their in-house affiliate programs. Here's the question: Any luck in contacting a merchant and suggesting an affiliate relationship? And, of course, as a newbie I wouldn't begin to know how to tell them to go about setting it up, tracking, etc. OK, "Have at it!"... did I ask it correctly?

Moderator Note: I split this out and moved it.

Rather than being indy programs, it sounds like these are actually merchants who DON'T have an affiliate program at all.

As a newbie, I would recommend that you start with merchants who have affiliate programs on the major networks. Once you've seen some success, you could pick up some indy programs (those are merchants who run their programs in-house [thus, "indy"] rather than through a network), if you really want to. But I wouldn't bother trying to get merchants to set up an affiliate program if they don't have one.

I've been in the industry for over 10 years, and have been very successful. Over that time, I've tried to encourage probably 100 merchants to set up affiliate programs. Very few (probably fewer than a dozen) did, and many of them were flops because the merchant just didn't know what they were doing.

Stick with the ones on networks and you'll save yourself a lot of hassle.
    Michael Coley
    Amazing-Bargains.com
     Affiliate Tips | Merchant Best Practices | Affiliate Friendly? | Couponing | CPA Networks? | ABW Tips | Activating Affiliates
    "Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world." Nelson Mandela

3. Thanks From: