Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ABW Ambassador Snib's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    5,303
    I've decided to finally incorporate the Amazon data into my shopping mall site, but I'm quickly realizing how difficult this is going to be.

    Does anybody have any experience implementing this? I'd like to take the products from each category and insert them into my own mysql database. Is this just unheardof? In order to accomodate my current system, I need to do this.

    Where do the categories come from? They don't seem to be apparent in the datafeed.

    Any tips or assistance you can offer will be tremendously appreciated!!

    Thank you,
    - Scott
    Hatred stirs up strife, But love covers all transgressions.

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador Snib's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    5,303
    I've been playing with the scratch pad at:

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/browse.html...7?node=3427431

    And it seems like it might work for me. Problem is I can only download 10 products at a time, so I'll need to hit their server several hundred times to get all the data I need.

    I hear they're coming out with a new AWS 4 pretty soon, but I don't know anything about it. Has anybody heard anything?

    - Scott
    Hatred stirs up strife, But love covers all transgressions.

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,205
    Categories: www.browsenodes.com

    I built a tool to scrape ASINs into an access database from the XML feed. The tool and the surfer's POV front end both use version 2.0 of the AWS.
    Dr. Strangeweb, or how I learned how to stop worrying about SERPS and love the WOM.

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    273
    If you are a PHP guru, in the SOAP/XML chapter in "PHP and MySQL web development" (ISBN 0-672-32525-x) there is a sample app that uses Amazon webservices. This actually caches the Amazon results.

    However it is not for the faint hearted as the code is non-trivial and also you will need to check to ensure the way it does caching is still compliant with the latest Amazon T&C on caching as they changed a while back.

    I have been a bit disappointed with Amazon web servcies as it seems very slow unless you do go down the caching route.

    Les

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador Snib's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    5,303
    Thanks guys. I definitely need to cache the information. Anybody know off the top of their head how long they require you to update your cache? I really don't want to rely on their servers to run search queries and display product information. I'm going to be importing this information through the crontab using PHP.

    - Scott
    Hatred stirs up strife, But love covers all transgressions.

  6. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Amazon datafeed / product information
    By Greg Goodson in forum Amazon
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: February 28th, 2011, 08:29 PM
  2. Amazon Datafeed ????
    By adsw in forum Amazon
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: March 30th, 2008, 11:19 PM
  3. Amazon Datafeed ????
    By adsw in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 1st, 2006, 03:15 PM
  4. Is it possible to get a datafeed from Amazon?
    By blakekri in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 21st, 2004, 10:43 AM
  5. Similarity of CJ datafeed to Amazon's?
    By androidtech in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: August 15th, 2003, 01:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •