I have a question involving invalid credit card reversals for any merchants who can answer. Before naming this particular CJ merchant I was curious how long typically before you can tell if a person placed an order using an invalid credit card. I had a 48.00 commission reversed this morning for invalid cc less than 8 hours after the transaction was recorded. This sale was for 975.00 and it seems like the merchant should have taken the time to contact this person to see if they could supply a different credit card. It seems unlikely that this happened so quickly.

Do merchants take the time to contact customers with invalid credit cards? or do you typically just toss the order in the trash. This particular merchant reverses too many transactions already, they alternate the reasons. I've always lived with it but this would have been the largest commission they had ever paid me.

Thanks in advance!

Internet Cowboy
    As a former e-commerce manager, I can say that calling every bogus credit card order is not feasible. I ran a small operation (about $1 million) in annual sales. We got a minimum of $10,000 per month in bogus orders. After a while, you can spot them. The email will be something like ilovechocolate@deathbychocolate.com. Most of these orders originate in Eastern Europe. I called the ones with a US address, but I can't remember ever calling one that was an honest mistake or something of the sort.
    There are people who spend their entire day ordering from merchants, using bad cards. Most of the cards are approved, but a wise merchant will be able to spot bad credit card transactions at a glance.
    As a full-time affiliate marketer, this drives me crazy as well with the reversals, but I must say that I understand the merchant's side of the story.
    I hope that helped. I got hit with a $20 chargeback this morning myself, due to a bad CC.
    Scott

Thanks, that does help alleviate some of the agony!

Hi Blizz93,