Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    390
    I'm using Frontpage 2000 with XP Pro.

    Whenever I open a web page, Front Page prompts me for a name and password, saying that author permission is required (I just simply close the alert box without entering anything). In addition, the program spaces out every line of code so that it appears like this:

    <div align="center">

    <center>

    <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="768">

    <tr>

    <td>

    Any ideas on how to get FP not to prompt me for a username and password and how to get FP to stop spacing out the code?

    BTW, to those of you are thinking the answer is get rid of FrontPage, please refrain from giving that as an answer.

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    West Coast USA
    Posts
    3,043
    >please refrain

    That is no fun!

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    390
    Yeah, I know all you FP-haters are just dying to get on your soapbox.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    148
    Hey sweat,

    To Hell with the FP Haters!

    In the last 5 years I've made plenty of money with MS FrontPage. Some would say, "Yeh, but you could have made more if you used XYZ program".

    Well, I say that if it wasn't for MS FP, I wouldn't have made squat!

    Sorry, But I can't help you with your problem. What you describe has never happened to me.

    Good Luck with FP.

    Ken
    (I Love FP)

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    199
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> To Hell with the FP Haters!

    In the last 5 years I've made plenty of money with MS FrontPage. Some would say, "Yeh, but you could have made more if you used XYZ program".

    Well, I say that if it wasn't for MS FP, I wouldn't have made squat!

    Sorry, But I can't help you with your problem. What you describe has never happened to me.
    <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    I second that Ken.

    Sweat, I've used every version of FP and have never had that happen. I suggest you upgrade to FP2003, It's well worth the money.

  6. #6
    http and a telephoto
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    17,708
    I'll ditto the FP 2003 suggestion, it has features that blow your version away. It has lots more features.
    Deborah Carney
    TeamLoxly.com BookGoodies.com ABCsPlus.com

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    200
    Is there something in your preference that changed with out you noticing it? Can you do a repair or reinstall ?
    www.joeytomatoes.com :: Day Care For Your Brain

  8. #8
    ABW Founder Haiko de Poel, Jr.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    21,609
    FP is prompting you because it is calling something from a remote server (not local) do you have FP set up to automatically open up your most recent page? You probably have content on that page that has an absolute reference to a file that is on another server and not called locally and the div is probably a derivative/effect of that remote file call.
    Continued Success,

    Haiko
    The secret of success is constancy of purpose ~ Disraeli

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    390
    Haiko,

    On every page I've got an affiliate link of somesort or another. In addition, it is calling to a CSS and the logo is being pulled from the web. Would this a be a cause?

    Joey - thanks for the suggestion. The preference settings were my first guess, but I don't see anything in them that would cause this (unless I'm completely missing something).

  10. #10
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    371
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Ken Walton:
    Hey sweat,

    To Hell with the FP Haters!

    In the last 5 years I've made plenty of money with MS FrontPage. Some would say, "Yeh, but you could have made more if you used XYZ program".

    Well, I say that if it wasn't for MS FP, I wouldn't have made squat!
    (I Love FP) <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


    Well - seeing that someone already seconded that - I will third it! I laugh all the way to the bank when I see web design experts bash FrontPage. By telling people (especially newbies!) not to use Frontpage - they are doing a tremendous disservice.

    Oh yeah - you can learn html to create pages. You can also cut your lawn with a nail clipper and get equal pleasure IMO.
    Larry Wentz
    <a href="http://twitter.com/LarryWentz">Twitter.com/LarryWentz</a>

  11. #11
    Internet Cowboy
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    4,662
    There are SOOOO many WYSIWYG editors out there that use real HTML. FrontPage is so bulky and cumbersome and installs Microsoft advertisements in your HTML code.
    Dreamweaver is 100 times better than frontpage if you must use an HTML editor.


  12. #12
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    390
    HEY! No Frontpage Hating! Just possible solutions to my problem!

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    199
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Oh yeah - you can learn html to create pages. You can also cut your lawn with a nail clipper and get equal pleasure IMO. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> FrontPage is so bulky and cumbersome and installs Microsoft advertisements in your HTML code. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
    Not so schohaz. It uses some program specific bots if you use some of the automated FP features, but it does not install advertisements.

  14. #14
    http and a telephoto
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    17,708
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by scohaz:
    There are SOOOO many WYSIWYG editors out there that use real HTML. FrontPage is so bulky and cumbersome and installs Microsoft advertisements in your HTML code.
    Dreamweaver is 100 times better than frontpage if you must use an HTML editor. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    First of all there are issues with Dreamweaver too, no one editor is perfect, I use both programs for different things and for different reasons. FP2003 ROCKS and is worth the money to upgrade if you currently use FP or are getting started and need a WYSIWIG editor to get started. This is from a person that HAD sworn off Front Page and never wanted to touch it again

    Stay away from Front Page components and you will not get bloated crap, FP2003 eliminated most of the bloat anyway.

    Most people do NOT know straight html when they are starting, but FP2003 has better html tools than older versions and it should be easy for even a newcomer to be able to look at the straight code and see what is going on.

    There are coders that use only notepad and never use a WYSIWIG editor, more power to you! I used to be one of you and truthfully, I use mostly php for my sites so I use Notepad for simple edits and Dreamweaver when I need to see line numbers.

    When I want to apply a theme or shared borders to an existing site or template site, I use FP2003.

    There is room for all the programs,they all have a different purpose. If you can't afford them all, get what YOU are comfortable with.

    Why do people treat web site creation programs like they are a religion and always try to convert people to the one they believe in?????
    Deborah Carney
    TeamLoxly.com BookGoodies.com ABCsPlus.com

  15. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Some Frontpage Help
    By maae10 in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: March 24th, 2006, 04:09 PM
  2. Frontpage problem
    By publisher in forum WebMerge (Fourthworld.com)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: January 25th, 2005, 07:11 PM
  3. FrontPage Help
    By hazydavy in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 1st, 2003, 10:12 AM
  4. Shared Borders Problem in FrontPage 2000
    By tmargulis in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 19th, 2002, 10:00 AM
  5. cj frontpage
    By java in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 26th, 2001, 10:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •