Domains By Proxy - The Bain of my Existence
    Please PM me if you know any tricks of the trade on how to contact a site when Domains by Proxy is in the mix.

I know that privacy is so important to many and I do understand that as an honest business person.

However....I am a Compliance Officer and more often then not, when I am having an issue with egregious violations against my clients via a site...they are registered by Proxy, have no valid contact information on their site, no Privacy Policy, and all traffic information about their site is bogus, etc. etc.

So frustrating when all I am trying to do is make sure that the information being posted about my client is correct and follows all of the legal guidelines that their accreditation requires.

I have tried all of the tricks in my bag today (and trust me I have a bunch of them) but to no avail. My client could get sued but the fraudster can hide behind the private registration and keep gathering people's personal information and selling it at random.

{sigh} I'm at my wit's end....any advice would be helpful.

Sheri

Instead of trying to contact the owner, I would go for the host.

If it's a copyright violation, you have plenty of recourse if you file a formal DMCA complaint with the host of the website, regardless of the anonymous registration. A host can be held responsible & should have contact information for suspected abuse.

Another option is a cease & desist letter via Domains by Proxy (and wait for the response).

Plan B is the search-engine route - I had a site that scraped mine deindexed from google, after reporting them. I don't see the contact form in webmaster tools anymore, but they used to allow you to report suspected violations.

Quote Originally Posted by Sheri View Post