Legality of using pics for a sports site.
    Hi,

Im fairly new to affiliate marketing so forgive me if this question seems pretty basic. I am starting up a sports/MMA site and need to use pictures from other sites or google images. Basically, I am unsure if I am allowed to show these pictures on my site, what is the legality on this matter?

I would like to use the pictures for news, as well as alter some pictures to make desktop backgrounds to give away on my site.

Is this more of a grey area? Or is it definitely illegal or perfectly fine to use the pics.

Thanks for any responses.

http and a telephoto
    This was asked recently. You need to check the copyright information on ANY image, especially if you want to alter or use it commercially.

You absolutely cannot just assume a photo you find on the web is usable for your personal or commercial ventures.
    Deborah Carney
    TeamLoxly.com BookGoodies.com ABCsPlus.com

You are in, or you are out ... choose!
    Almost every image is copyright, one example of an exception being old photos that are now out of copyright but even then there are exceptions to the exception.

So, better to take that every photo you might want to use is copyright and ask the owner of the photos where it is or is not available for use. Especially if you are doing a sports site, those in the professional sports arena might not take too kindly to you using their images. $$$
    [url=http://www.dWoz.com/][b]dWoz[/b][/url] - serious webmaster tools & resources.

Quote Originally Posted by loxly View Post
    This was asked recently. You need to check the copyright information on ANY image, especially if you want to alter or use it commercially.

You absolutely cannot just assume a photo you find on the web is usable for your personal or commercial ventures.
    Thanks again for the response,

I figured that was the case,