Do affiliate sites add products manually?
    Basically I would like to sign up with a few affiliate sites in order to be able to sell as many products as possible, so I have 2 questions in relation to this.

1. Do affiliates manually add all products to their site? If so, this could take a hell of a long time. I'm thinking about selling hundreds or even thousands of products. I'm not complaining but I didn't realise that it would take so long.

2. Do merchants send out notifications if there are new products they are selling or discontinuing?

They may seem like silly questions, but I am a newbie so go easy on me.

Not silly questions, really.

Short answer -- yes, affiliates "manually" add all the products to their site.

Longer answer:

What you would probably prefer would be using merchant datafeeds to build self-sustaining or nearly self-sustaining sites that update themselves.

But this all, of course, takes a certain amount of knowledge of coding (mostly PHP and some HTML), or perhaps just one of the datafeed services you'll see spoken of around here like PopShops or GoldenCan or whatever.

Lots to learn to make such stuff work out.

A smaller scale operation, such as a WordPress site using some of the plugins available for various merchants, would be another way to go.

You'll learn that affiliate marketing isn't usually "quick, easy money," though the concept of affiliate marketing may seem that was at first.

It takes a lot of learning, a great investment of time, and certainly SOME investment of money resources (depending on how much work you are willing and able to do for yourself).

I encourage you to spend a lot of time looking at the various forums here and looking through the posts of folks who are very successful at this from learning how to get it done and working hard at it.
    Generate more fake news.

Do affiliates manually add all products to their site?
    Some do, some use datafeeds.