Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    I am so frustrated. Right now I have 2 sites - both are content sites. I am in the process of building a shopping site that is purely shopping. And I am hating it. The datafeeds are driving me crazy - my frustration level matches my headache!

Here are my questions:
    1. Is making a site that is a directory a bad idea? Could this come across as just a glorified link farm?
    2. At what point do you just do what you love and not make making money the top priority? I love writing - I am a writer at heart. Not a programmer. grrrr.

I really want to boost my income and know that so many of you have huge success rates with shopping.

Thanks for letting me vent...

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

The big shots are only the little shots who keep shooting.
    -Christopher Morley

1. I hope no one here at ABW feels the need to tell others what’s best for them when building a site. You need to build what fit your needs, read what others feel concerning there own experiences, and then decide.

2. It all depends on your specific financial needs. If you do not need the income then WRITE. If you require an income than do what the rest of the world is doing “work“ for it!

When I found the technology that makes my work easier I actually started to enjoy what I do for a living. As life moves on so have my needs and my business model. You have to do what’s best for you!

Zimmy:

Sandra's absolutely correct.

Look, there are plenty of people who make money writing. Can you make enough to make yourself happy? Only you can answer that question.

There are plenty of ways to make money online and, as Sandra suggests, you'll have to decide which one works best for you in regard to technical skill level, your interest and financial rewards.

Consider, too, that the Web isn't the only place to make money online. You may find that the Internet is only one place to employ your skills.