Large site launch - trickle or open wide?
    just curious what everyone's thoughts are on launching a site with lots of product content...not a super-lot, just 20k or so product pages. is it best to build out the full 20k pages and then release the entire site out into the wild (and SEs), or is there some benefit in trickling out the products over a number of weeks?

superCool is thinking of maybe releasing a small group of sub-categories each week, or maybe some other trickle out plan.

do you think it makes a difference at all?

fanks pals!

Tax Paying Member
    Quote Originally Posted by superCool View Post

fanks pals!
    I am not an expert by any means
    My gut feel is that if the site has the appearance of being a working site and not a work in progress then go with what you have. Get in out for indexing. Building out more pages as you go should only help.
    You must climb this mountain. There is no elevator. ---- Don't stick your finger in the liquid nitrogen.
    Carolina China

Half a Bubble Off Plumb RemodelingGuy's Avatar
    RG believes that you send it all out at once so you can do a realistic and real time comparison of your page hits...

Take the best and keep building around them...

20k pages is small change....

I would hold back on any duplicate content tho....

Jimmy McDonald - Your Local Hard Working RemodelingGuy ( & SprinklerGuy - & GarageGuy )
    StartRemodeling.com .... MySprinklerGuy.com .... MyGarageGuy.com ....
    We're Bettering YOUR Life by Improving Where YOU Live It ...
    Do What You LOVE & LOVE What You Do! ....

Let 'er rip.

SEO: A Specialty - Web Design: Slow or outsourced andbeyond's Avatar
    The Call is coming from Inside the House!
    I guess I will be the other side of this coin and say slower trickle IMO a better approach.

Lately if If I make a site of even 500 pages and make them all at once it seems I get no love from Google. Adding pages over time seems to get more of them indexed.