Hi,
    I am a software engineer and I have devoloped a toolbar for internet explorer which I want to give away as freeware but earn revenue on through affiliate links. The toolbar isn't adware or spyware of any kind and it isn't another search toolbar like hundreds of others, it is unique and usefull.
    What would be good programs (or types of programs) to try to promote on it in order to make money ?
    I was thinking along the lines of usefull resources that users would like to have buttons linking to. Maybe ebay, amazon, priceline.
    Does anyone know of a good price comparison site that has an affiliate program ?
    Thanks very much in advance,
    Elisha.

I think your talents are being wasted doing an IE toolbar...

btw, IE toolbars = bad @ abw.

ABW Ambassador
    Is there a commonality amongst the potential users of your toolbar? If not, you can't get more general than Amazon.

Without knowing how your toolbar will generate revenue for you, I'd suggest looking at the TOS of any program you are interested in to see if your methods of getting commissions aren't in violation. Most programs & network require a person to click on a link to a merchant's site. Some even enforce this.

Link buttons on a ~useful~ toolbar could be a money-maker.

Wayne

The toolbar is kind of a bookmark manager to organize all or a user's most used links and favorite sites. The commonality would be people who download software from the internet ?
    Thanks for the replies,
    Elisha.

What ElectricPixel.com said.

Fred

ABW Ambassador
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>btw, IE toolbars = bad @ abw. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Generally yes. Toolbars aren't in themselves aren't a bad thing. The potential for background abuse is, though. We see and feel the effects of the abuse and being naturally cautious, tend to paint all with the same broad brush.

Like it or not, the public seems to like toolbars. My parasite detector bears this out.