ABW Ambassador

July 25, 2004

Subject: FBI/DOJ Case??

Let's see, now.

I'm not a lawyer or a legal scholar, I'm a sci-tech guy, but if what Ben Enedelman says at:

http://www.benedelman.org/spyware/18...ts-silent.html

and I quote,

"180 has implemented a system that can replace affiliate tracking codes without showing users any popup windows. These replacement affiliate codes cause 180 to be paid commissions otherwise payable to other affiliates, and cause 180 to be paid commissions even if no commissions would otherwise be paid"

is true, I personally believe there is a case to be made and prosecuted by the United States Department of Justice,

(http://www.usdoj.gov/),

concerning organized interstate theft, organized racketeering, interstate wire fraud, interference with interstate commerce,
    and on and on, ad nauseum.

I noticed that the Bank of America is on Enedelman's list at:

http://www.benedelman.org/spyware/18...ts-double.html

Sounds like bank robbery to this Texan. I think the FBI

(http://www.fbi.gov)

should be informed about what is happening.

Just my opinion, I could be wrong.

I'd be very interested in the opinions of others.

RadarCat, B.A., M.Sc.
    http://www.os2warplinks.com

2005 Linkshare Golden Link Award Winner  ecomcity's Avatar
    Maybe we should all drop them a hint that a serial cookie kidnapper/killer is on the loose. My sales have been missing for more then 48 hours!
    Webmaster's... Mike and Charlie

"What have you done today to put real value into a referral click...from a shoppers viewpoint!"

RadarCat,

The issues are proof, understanding, time, capitol and legislation at this point.

There are a few here on ABW who claim to have proof but have yet to request prosecution; they are instead working towards getting these parasites to work fair and square. (Ya - Go figure)