On the surface, the TemplateMonster affiliate program appears to be highly successful. There affiliate forum has 17000+ members for example. I am wonder what can be attributed to this above average (and continued) success? Does anyone use their program?

Well, sites like this put me out of business. I use to be a freelance web designer. This is the beauty and agony of a global marketplace.

For the record, they provide an excellent service for the price. It could "revolutionize" small business web design.

My thoughts,
    Z

Speaking for myself (I'm still a freelance web designer in addition to a new affiliate marketer) I decided to look at template monster as an opportunity, rather than a competitor. I now have a "custom work" web development site, for clients with more money than time, and a "self-serve" site for clients with more time than money. If a client just wants a quick business card site (and there's plenty of those out there) I show them some of the templates from the site, explain how it works and what the cost savings would be, and often they'll pay me to buy their template, customize it, and populate it. Nice money for very little work.

Which is a roundabout way of saying, I'd bet many of those affiliates in the program aren't resellers, but are web designers (like me) buying the templates themselves to save time & money.

Hope that makes sense, I'd be interested in other people's viewpoints.

LOL, Elynn, that is such a great marketing twist! I love it.

I've bought templates through Template monster, used a friend's aff link so he got the commish. I never found marketing webmaster resources worth my time.
    Video Marketing Success eBook -- co-written by webmarm

ABW Ambassador affiliatemakeover's Avatar
    Yeah, it's tough if you're a web designer. Their prices and quality of work is unbelieveable. I've seen site designs in there that are better than what I've sold $50k website designs for back in 99, really.