Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    The slot machine that IS paid! Billy Kay's Avatar
    Generational Differences
    When I was 17, I already had years of work under my belt. Staring with BOTH the NY Daily News and Newsday paper routes (one morning/one afternoon), to flippin' burgers at Bobs Hamburgers, to working at Jones Beach.

I had already saved for and bought an old Ford Falcon.

I graduated a year early and had already joined the military at 17

My son just gave me a preliminary list of what he wants for his 17th birthday

17????????

He is NOT ready to go to Iraq!!

The thought of him behind the wheel of a car is frightening!

He's never even sold lemonade, no less had a real job!

Maybe it's just how a parent thinks - or maybe there was a major difference in our 2 generations.

Either way, it's scary!

All My Best,
    Billy Kay

Influencer Marketing GravityFed's Avatar
    HEy BK I had a paper route, and then I was employee of the month at Dirty Ron's (McDonalds -hehe). Are we the same generation Still have the emp of the month pin.

The slot machine that IS paid! Billy Kay's Avatar
    Are we the same generation?

Newspapers were a nickel each when I delivered them.

When I'd knock on someone's door to collect the total price was a quarter. Loved when the housewife said "I don't have it - come back when my husband's home".

Lady! It's a friggin' quarter!!

Were u in Utah then? Did you deliver in the snow on your banana seat stingray bicycle like me? LOLOL

http and a telephoto
    I didn't have a paper route, but was working at the local Rite Aid starting at 15. I got 1.05 an hour....
    Deborah Carney
    TeamLoxly.com BookGoodies.com ABCsPlus.com

Influencer Marketing GravityFed's Avatar
    I grew up near Ithaca, NY and I can't remember how much papers were. I had 65 customers in a one mile loop. Road my BMX bike. Mom would drive me when it was raining, and when it snowed I walked