Motivation!!
    Hi guys, I am new to affiliate marketing. I got a site up and running but I want it more professional looking before I start to try to get any traffic.
    The thing is that I searched on google for keywords related to my site just to see what my competitor were doing and there was a lot of sites almost exactly like mine.
    Now, I am a bit ic pess imis tic about my chance of succeeding in this venture, will I have to battle these other sites by SEOing to get traffic, will it work, what can I do, I need motivation :-)
    Last edited by seriousnoob; September 18th, 2010 at 12:02 PM.

Dude! Welcome aboard.
    I know what your dealing with. I have really been there.
    Are you just checking your competition by searching words or are you using the "keyword tool" from Google?
    One thing I like to do is check with the keyword tool to get good ideas and different words to make long tailed phrases and such. After you have a good list, nothing to crazy, you can go and do a google search for the keywords, but put the keywords in quotes. This will show you exactly how many pages that are indexed with that exact phrase in them. Then you can check out the results from there and make your choice. Go to the first few sites and see who they are. Judge the sites, are they cheesy or big companies?
    This will give you a bit more insight.
    The thing with ranking, that I'm learning, is that if your feeding good quality content and optimizing the pages then your probably doing more than most of the other sites out there. It just depends on how big of a niche your attacking.
    As far as the SEO part...yes you will be hitting that hard if you want to get anywhere. It's a learning process, but even the most experienced person knew nothing at one time.

Don't worry about competition. You are not going to find an area with zero competition. The goal should be to find an area with lower competition that is not working as hard as you are.