Question Isn't a catalog reproduction a mistake?
    Isn't it a mistake to just recreate the merchant's datafeed? For example, I am using WordPress and I saw plugins that would take a datafeed and generate posts based upon the datafeed, one item gets one post, so you would have 24k posts or the like.

But doesn't Google dislike stuff like that? I can't see any reason to do this.

Or does it work? Seems like if it were that easy everyone would be doing it.

I have been using merchant's datafeeds on my sites for ten years now and that is where all of my sales come from.

G is on my sites all day every day indexing my pages and most of my pages will come up on the first page in the G search results.

Merchant's datafeeds are the way you make your money in affiliate marketing.
    Last edited by BurgerBoy; October 21st, 2010 at 08:24 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by BurgerBoy View Post
    I have been using merchant's datafeeds on my sites for ten years now and that is where all of my sales come from.

G is on my sites all day every day indexing my pages and most of my pages will come up on the first page in the G search results.

Merchant's datafeeds are the way you make your money in affiliate marketing.
    Do you cloak links? Sorry if too personal.

Nope. G knows they are affiliate links. If you have a page with the item searched for that page will come up on the G search results.

I have one site that has 650,000 pages on it. Which had you rather have - a 10 page website that gives you ten chances of coming up on a search results or 650,000 chances of coming up on a search result?

On my sites you can find all of the pages on the site from any one page on the site. If any one of your pages comes up - they have your whole site to shop on.

If you're only reproducing merchant datafeeds, without any original content, then your site will get lost among thousands of others (considered duplicate content)... so yes, you're right that Google wouldn't think much of it.