Affiliate Manager
    Red face Affiliate Marketing Consultant
    Hi Everyone-

Painting the picture...

My company's affiliate program is mature (5 years active, 2 networks and 3,000 affiliates, Conv 3%, AOV $212). I have an AM who has almost 2 years experience in the affiliate channel. That AM is doing a great job with the level of experience and I have no plans to replace the AM.

The question...

I was approached my someone whom I have known for a few years now who has lots of experience in the affiliate space. I thought it may make sense to engage with him on a project to get some ideas on growing sales at an even faster pace and somewhat of mentor to the current AM

I received a service proposal from the consultant that was not detailed and lacked structure. The consultant is asking for X% commission on sale that are generated from affiliates that are not currently joined. X% of sale over and above a mutually agreeable monthly sales. (no other details)

I'm in the process of adding more structure to the service agreement and need your help.

My current AM is actively pursuing advertisers and is looking into signing up with another network (possible but not likely). So how do I know which affiliates the AM recruited and which affiliates the consultant recruited? I also want to put a cap on total payout and time limit of payout. Example if the consultant recruited 50 advertisers and 5 are generating money I don't want to pay commission on that money generated for the life of the program. I need to know what a fair cap on time after an affiliate is launches. And the best way to keep track of recruitment process.

The big question here is “what is a fair payout structure on an established program with an AM in place?”

Any help and ideas you can send my way would be greatly appreciated.

Respectfully,
    JOAffiliate

OPM and Moderator Chuck Hamrick's Avatar