Affiliate Manager
    Involved in multiple networks, will this negatively affect my program?
    Hey Guys!

I am new to managing an affiliate program and now have this task at hand for the company that I work for.

The program is new and I had signed up with SAS, LinkShare and CJ.

I have the followign stats:

CJ 1200 affiliates 13 Sales (1 month since launch)
    SAS 93 affiliates 1 sale (1 month since launch)
    LinkShare 300 affiliates 2 sales (1 week since launch)

I am excited about the amount of affiliates that have joined yet worried that there are not many sales. I am wondering if the fact that I have joined with multiple networks may be a bad thing and may be effecting me negatively...

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks everyone!

Hi Misha,
    Nice to meet you and welcome to ABW

Managing a program on multiple networks can be challenging because affiliates may be worried about their transactions being reversed. Here's how that works. Let's say a consumer is shopping around and they are researching your product. They do a search, find a blog post, click through a Linkshare link and come to your site. They're not ready to buy yet.

They continue their research and end up clicking back to your site from other blogs, or other shopping comparison sites, and my end up with a ShareASale cookie as well as a CJ cookie.

At the end of the month, you run a report and realize you're paying commission to three parties on a single transaction. So you end up backing out two of those transactions, so two affiliates see their numbers go down at the end of the month. That's never a fun experience.

It may not necessarily impact how many affiliates join your program, but it may impact what kind of priority the assign to your program. I'm sure some of them can respond with their opinion here as well.

I provide my opinion as a current affiliate manager, and as a former employee at ShareASale...but that's all it is, an opinion. Hope that helps though!
    best,