Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ABW Ambassador mailman's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    mailordering.com
    Posts
    906
    Domain Url
    I often see sites with(eg)shopping.food.com. Can this be done with all domain names or is this a domain name in itself? Is the only way shopping.com/food.html?

  2. #2
    15 years and counting
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    6,121
    It's called a subdomain. Unlike domains, subdomains can be created "at will". For any domain, you can create as many subdomains as you like. You do not have to go to a registrar and pay an annual fee for each of them.

  3. #3
    15 years and counting
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    6,121
    You can find some information on the differences between subdomains (shopping.food.com) and subfolders (shopping.com/food.html) here:
    When to Use Subdomains vs. Subfolders | Search Marketing Standard

  4. #4
    ABW Ambassador mailman's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    mailordering.com
    Posts
    906
    Thanks Zeus. So if I make a page(eg) shopping.food.com and FTP into my provider will shopping.food.com come up when someone types in this url?

  5. #5
    15 years and counting
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    6,121
    If you're using cpanel it's easy to make a subdomain, just follow the instructions after a click on the icon.
    •In CPanel, click on Subdomains.
    •Enter the name of your new subdomain.
    •Click Add.
    •A new folder with the name of your subdomain will be created in the public_html directory. This is where you will upload files for the subdomain.
    Last edited by Zeus; November 18th, 2010 at 11:02 AM.

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador mailman's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    mailordering.com
    Posts
    906
    Thanks Zeus. I use filezilla and looked for the above with no luck. Sorry I am 68 year old self taught HTML dummy. So I made this page in my files and then go to Fillezillia and just put this in my public-html files ?

  7. #7
    15 years and counting
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    6,121
    To learn how to ftp files in a subdomain you can check this page:
    How do I FTP to a subdomain?
    But, you need to create first the subdomain.

  8. #8
    Tax Paying Member
    Join Date
    November 14th, 2005
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    2,119
    Quote Originally Posted by Zeus View Post
    If you're using cpanel it's easy to make a subdomain, just follow the instructions after a click on the icon.
    •In CPanel, click on Subdomains.
    •Enter the name of your new subdomain.
    •Click Add.
    •A new folder with the name of your subdomain will be created in the public_html directory. This is where you will upload files for the subdomain.
    Mailman..........You must follow these steps as Zeus has spelled out.....
    You can't FTP any files until you go thru the process of setting up a subdomain.

    This is not an HTML file..............
    You must climb this mountain. There is no elevator. ---- Don't stick your finger in the liquid nitrogen.
    Carolina China

  9. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Can You Have a dot in a URL Past Domain?
    By Uncle Rico in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: February 3rd, 2010, 04:57 AM
  2. Trademarks in URL (Not domain itself)
    By Mike26 in forum Business & Legal Issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 27th, 2009, 12:25 AM
  3. What to do with CJ links if you change your URL for a new domain ?
    By Elisac in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 23rd, 2003, 02:25 AM
  4. Mistyped domain URL
    By perfectG in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: September 28th, 2002, 07:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •