Hi all.

If you don't mind giving a little help to newbies like me and a little inside info, what approach works best for you?

The "Shotgun" approach? Where you throw up lots of mini-sites covering a wide range of affiliate products and customers in hopes that one or more will hit?

Or the "rifle" approach, where you build a large site dedicated to "zeroing in" on a specific niche or market area?

Since I'm just starting out, I'm considering using the "shotgun" approach, covering a wide range of affiliate programs and different audiences until I find one that out-performs all the rest.
    Then I figure to try the "Rifle" approach.

Does this make sense? Does it seem like a valid tactic? I've researched a lot of different niche areas, and found some that had tons of potential judging by the supply/demand ratio.

But supplying a market segment that is composed of "tire-kickers" rather than buyers is a concern I have. I wouldn't want to waste a lot of time and effort building a large website based on a supply/demand ratio that I think has a lot of potential if all the customers do is look around.

What advice can you give?

Thanks in advance,
    Rick K.
    "Whether you think you can, or whether you think you can't...You're right!" -Henry Ford-

Hey Rick - howdy from a fellow Texan!

well, I do both - lol, I know that isn't much help.

I have all kinds of sites from shotgun to niche to content. That way all my eggs are not in just one basket and I don't get bored working on just one kind of site.
    Ebudae

Rick, Welcome to Abw. I do both too. Rifle and Shotgun, because I believe having a business needs variety. One niche only happens during a time. so therefore I would rather have my Gold eggs in more then one basket. I have shopping,content,and other ways too.

ABW Ambassador
    I like the rifle approach myself. A rifle approach along with a good, large content site works very well for me. Excellent rankings in the SERPS and decent conversions.

ABW Ambassador