Smile Hosting as it relates to SEO
    Good afternoon,

I'm a newbie/baby affiliate marketer & attempting to make the best hosting decision in order to prevent further headaches down the road.

I've put together a site offered thru a well known affiliate marketer who is encouraging me to host the site with him. Problem is he's more expensive than anyone I've seen.

I've been told that it would be to my benefit because I would have my own domain name/actual URL thru him which search engines love; rather than have it hosted somewhere else and have to use the affiliate URL which (as he says) many search engines ignore.

Can any of you veterans please tell me if this is true? Thank you!

Either he doesn't know what the hell he's talking about, or he's blowing smoke up your butt while he's trying to reach into your pocket.

Read around the internet and learn the basic "how-to's" for starting up a website.

You can register any domain on your own (provided that it's not already a registered name) and choose from many thousands of webhosts that are not expensive at all.
    CUSTOM BANNERS by GRAPHICS CANDY ~ Banner Sets and Website Graphics ~ Professional design, reasonable rates
    DESIGNER DOG CHECKS ~ We double-dog dare ya to write one!

Smile Hosting as it relates to SEO
    Thank you so much for responding David. I pretty much assumed what you said and I've seen the hosting plans that are reasonably priced, but my real question is this:

Is he correct in saying that the search engines are more likely to ignore an affiliate URL than they are a direct URL, thereby affecting my rankings in a negative way? I know there are a number of other variables that go into SEO, but was just curious about this particular one.

Sorry if I wasn't clear.

While his point MAY be valid as far as the Links go, that has nothing to do with hosting.